It Will Probably Be a Long Lunch

I just got off the phone with an ex-colleague.  It was a very long call – over 90 minutes.  She called me earlier in the day while I was walking home but I missed it.  The odd thing is that I was thinking of her yesterday.  She called again when I got home.  We always got along very well at work but we have never met each other.  We did eventually meet for lunch and had a wonderful time.

She asked me how I was doing and I gave her a quick update.  Her voice though sounded a bit slurred.  Was she drinking?  Then she told me that when she went in to check on her migraines, they told her she has an unruptured brain aneurysm.  Because of where it is in her brain, it is very difficult, if not impossible to treat.  The doctors said it could rupture in a week or a year, there’s just no way to tell.  So she’s been running around trying to settle her affairs.  I listened as she calmly went on talking about the doctors, the insurance forms, work, her family, her funeral plans and her dog.  She spoke about her life, her parents, her brother who passed away at 18 in a car accident and all the questions she still had about life.

She told me while she was doing all of this, she heard her guardian angel reminding her to connect with old friends.  So I was one of the people she called.  As we were winding down, I asked if there was anything I could do for her.  She asked to have lunch with her and so that’s what we’re gonna do in a couple of weeks.

20 thoughts on “It Will Probably Be a Long Lunch

  1. Oh my, so she stopped working now? Must be difficult to live with this… Is it possible that it won’t rupture and kill her in the next year?

  2. That’s scary. A friend of mine had a slightly oozing brain aneurism, and it caused him to appear to be on drugs. But they were able to fix it quite well, and now he has titanium in his head worth 10k. So his head is valuable.

  3. So sorry to hear this about your friend Matt. You know, difficult cases of cerebral aneurysms are tackled by a fine catheter that has a metal clip at the tip. It is threaded into her blood vessel of the arm and under fluoroscopy, the tip is guided to that aneurysm through the blood vessel that is the culprit. And then the clip is placed across the swollen part of the vessel, and the patient goes home happy and healthy. It is a fairly common procedure in the US in the bigger cities and universities. I wonder if your friend has checked into this type of procedure there in Canada.

    All the best to her. I am so glad you are having lunch with her soon.

    • She has seen a neurologist and was told the aneurysm is in a spot (y shaped?) and the catheter procedure will likely not be successful. She told me the waiting room had about 70+ people who all had brain aneurysms. (I had no idea it was so common). It’s a long drive for her to get into this hospital and it has a large Truama and Neurosurgery department. Her doctor says the option of leaving it alone and monitoring it every 6 months is likely the best.

  4. That is so heartbreaking. Just another reminder to all of us to cherish our life, make the most out of every day and not worry about things that aren’t important.

    It’s also super sweet that she had you on the list of friends to get in touch with.

  5. That’s scary. I’m sorry to hear about this and I agree with Sheldon, it makes me want to cherish my life, and it was sweet of her to get in touch with you. It could happen at any time, hey? Gosh.

  6. You are a special person, Matt. That your friend would want to see you at this crucial time speaks volumes to your empathy and character.

    Sending her healing thoughts. xo
    eden

  7. Wow. 😦 So very sad and so scary! 😦 I will keep her in my healing thoughts and prayers.

    How wonderful that she thought of you and you two can spend time together, Matt.

    On my cancer journey I have learned a lot. It’s reminded me how short (and how difficult) life can be. It’s reminded me we need friends to help us through. And much more.

    I know you bring comfort, empathy, and love to your friend, Matt. She is fortunate to have you in her life.

    (((HUGS)))

    • Thank you for the healing thoughts and prayers, I know she’ll appreciate it. Even though I’ve watched my parents finished their journey in life and losing others, there are many times when I forget how short life can be.

Leave a Reply

