2 Simple Things

Here are 2 simple things that has make me feel better during this long job search.

  1.  I make my bed in the morning.
  2.  I wash and clear the sink of any dirty dishes and cutlery before I go to sleep.

I don’t remember where I first read about this.  At the end of a long day when things haven’t gone your way, you need a good night sleep.  It just feels better to get into a bed that’s been made.  You don’t want the unmade and messy bed to remind you of chores you should have done.  Making your bed in the morning is also a very simple way of crossing a task of your to do list.

When you wake up, you also don’t want to face a sink full of dirty dishes.  It’s easier to get on with your day without first doing dishes.  I just want my coffee and breakfast.

Now I have to admit, I don’t do this all the time. But I always come back to these 2 things and it seems to put me in the right frame of mind.

 

26 thoughts on “2 Simple Things

  1. Funny because I had the same thoughts about making my bed. I had a couple days go by where I just left my bed a total mess, but got back into the habit of making it again and I feel so much better about it. Strange…

  2. I agree with that, esp. a made bed. I am getting better at cleaning dishes in time, but doing the dishes is still high up there among least favorite household chores.

  3. A clean environment is always better than a messy, dirty one. When my mind is a mess, and my days just blur into one, my house can get messy. When I finally get my act together and clean it all up, I do notice that it injects a dose of order and goodness in my life. It does affect my moods.

    My house is normally neat and tidy, so when it’s messy, it means I’ve strayed into negative, defeatist thinking and living.

    Lol. I sound so emo.

  4. Excellent, and excellent advice, Matt! 🙂
    I used to NOT do these 2 things every day…but for a few years now I have….and it does help me feel better. 🙂
    I just saw this book recently…and probably should buy it…
    Make Your Bed: Little Things That Can Change Your Life…And Maybe the World
    by William H. McRaven
    HUGS!!! 🙂

  5. Sometimes the simplest things help. I make my bed too. It’s easy, just a sheet and duvet. I usually prepare the coffee the night before so all I have to do is hit the button in the morning. The less I have to do when I wake up, the better. 😉 eden

Leave a Reply

