Smiles

I was sitting at a bench near the entrance of the library while waiting for a colleague. Standing near me was a well dressed and good looking Asian boy (14 or 15?) with a “Samurai pony tail”.  He looked stylish and poised.  His black rim glasses added a touch of maturity.  He had an iced coffee in his hand and and was looking at his phone.  I was a bit early so I got my notebook out to make some notes for my meeting.

When I looked up again, I saw the boy looking towards the front door with a big smile on his face.  I looked over and there was another Asian boy who looked like a member of a Korean boy band.   They both had the biggest smiles as they walked towards each other.  It was quite cute to watch.  The  first boy gave the second one the ice coffee drink.  The second boy looked surprised and smiled even more.  There was just a hint of a blush and also a very discreet nod of the head from the second boy.

It was neat to see what looked like a genuine, open friendship.  But it also reminded me that I didn’t have that when I was their age.

14 thoughts on “Smiles

  1. Asians are so fashionable these days – I like to call it the Kpop effect – and I think it’s great.

    Soon these guys will grow to our respective ages, and I wonder what their life would be like.

  2. This is so sweet and so happy, it brought joy-tears to my eyes! 🙂 I want everyone to be this happy! 🙂

    You are a great observer of life and people, Matt! And you are great at writing down your observations! 🙂

    HUGS!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

