Life Goes On

I got an email a few weeks ago that my uncle passed away.   I didn’t know him that well.  He had 2 wives and growing up, we only saw the cousins from his first wife.  There were already emails alerting us that his health was very poor and he was already on “do not resuscitate”.  So his passing wasn’t a surprise.  I think my relatives are relieved that my uncle passed away in his sleep. His physical suffering is now over.

A few weeks ago, I was messaging with a friend from Xanga.  We had chatted a few months ago and he told me he was expecting his second child in February. I didn’t hear anything from him so I emailed him.  So he messaged me back the next day with updates and pictures of his baby boy.  He also chided me for not having Facebook where he posts all his updates.  His baby boy looks exactly like him.  I liked the photo where he and his daughter are both kissing his son. We chatted for awhile.  I then told him I needed to make dinner. He told me his daughter was cuddling him while he’s feeding his baby boy.  It reminded me at one point in my life, I wanted to have a child.  I feel sad that I can’t make that dream a reality.

Life goes on.

 

12 thoughts on “Life Goes On

    • Thanks Andrew – I’m sure his family is relieved. I don’t really know him, my last meeting with him was many years ago and prior to that – maybe it was when I was less than 10 yrs old.

      As for kids – oh well. It’s not the end of the world. Someone suggested I become a sugar daddy but I don’t think so.

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss, Matt. 😦 It is difficult to see our parent’s generation of relatives die. Soon they will all be gone. 😦 May your uncle rest in peace. I’m glad he is no longer in pain.

    I’m so sorry to hear about you not being able to have a child. 😦 That is very tough for you. 😦

    I know these things might be difficult and not the same as having your own…but could you adopt, or do volunteer work with kids, or be involved in the lives of any neices or nephews???

    (((HUGS)))

  2. Sorry to hear about your uncle passing away. Even if you were not close, it must have come as a shock.

    Like you I don’t have FB and sometimes feel ostracized because others expect me to be on it. So at times I miss out of information. Oh well.

  3. I did not see this post until now Matt. Such a relief that your uncle is not suffering any more. I am sorry that your dream of having a baby didn’t materialize.
    Love you Mattie.

Leave a Reply

