Snippets

I just have 3 snippets.

  1.  I got a kid of around 5 yrs old into a bit of trouble on the weekend.  He was in a table next to mine with  2 adult women and a younger girl.  One of the women was his mom.  We were all in a packed restaurant and he was in the table in front of me although his back was towards me.  During dinner he looked back at my table and I gave him a quick smile and looked away.  He thought I was playing with him and he ducked behind the back of his chair.  I could see him trying to peek at me but I didn’t pay attention to the kid because his mom was seated facing me.  It was a good thing she was focused on feeding the little girl and didn’t look over.  I only looked at the kid when I knew the mom and the other woman wasn’t looking at me.  Eventually the mom got tired of the kid not eating, hiding behind the winter coats that were draped over the back of the chair and trying to peek at my table.  She let loose a few stern words and the kid was sniffling and crying a bit.  But before you start on me, he was giggling and laughing by the end of the night.
  2. My sister told me one of her neighbours passed away.  She was an elderly woman who had some mental health issues but lived by herself.   An ambulance and police showed up and they had to use a crowbar to open the door to her house.  What surprised my sister and her neighbours is that the elderly woman’s daughter just lived down the street.  None of them knew about the daughter until that old woman passed away.  No one had keys to the elderly woman’s home.  It’s just sad.
  3. It’s been almost 9 months since I lost my job. I have no idea what my next career will be.  I have to admit that I didn’t really look hard for jobs until this year.  I would say last year was more of a recovery – both physically and mentally. The uncertainty is both scary and exciting.  The potential is limitless (or so I tell myself).  I’m certainly pushing the limits of my comfort zone but I’m still strangely calm.
18 thoughts on “Snippets

  1. Glad to hear you’re calm about your work situation. I think it’s important to find something you’ll be happy with given the stress you had at your last job.

    The second story was just sad and the first one was cute.

    • I don’t know why I’m so calm about my situation. Maybe it’s just my mind playing tricks on myself. I do keep an eye on my finances. The only thing I really want to do is update my washroom and lights in my condo (old track lighting).

  2. You recovering makes a lot of sense. I did wonder why someone like you hadn’t found an ideal job yet. Hope you find yourself renewed and find meaning to your days.

    The second story is shocking and sad.

    • Recovering or procrastinating? Hmm… maybe I’m in denial too.

      Yeah, the second story is really sad. The poor woman had dementia of some sorts and but no one seemed to look after her. Or she shut people out from her life.

  3. I love these three snippets, each unrelated to the other, and yet, woven together by the common thread of humanity.

    Life is full of amusing and sad observations, but not everyone takes the time to observe them. I’m glad you are doing so, Matt. Thanks for sharing them with us through your writing,

    eden

  4. 1. So cute! 🙂 Kids can add such joy and fun to life and they remind us it’s okay to be silly. 🙂
    2. So sad! 😦 Whenever I hear stories like this (with all the ways people can check on each other each day or every few days…like a simple text), I am so shocked and saddened. 😦
    3. The time you’ve had to do some recovery is good. Still sending bestest wishes your way for a great job! Keep keeping calm. 🙂
    I always enjoy your writing, Matt, especially your view of life!
    Whole (not snippet) HUGS!!! 😀

  5. How sad about the elderly person who passed away and the daughter didn’t bother to care for her or be by her side.
    I hope you find a good position soon Matt. I have been having you in my thoughts and prayers. I know you will come upon something soon. There may be delay, but there won’t be denial.
    Yes, I have played similar games with kids across the tables many times. Cute, no?

Leave a Reply

