Focus and Discipline

It’s so easy for me to get distracted and turn a promising day into one of wasted opportunity.  Job hunting forces me to venture out of my comfort zone.  Networking doesn’t come naturally to me despite my strengths in working with people.  Talking about me is essential but I’d rather talk about others.  The only time I talk about me is here.  Asking for help, advice and insight can be humbling but I have no problem offering them when asked.

It’s easy for me to get distracted by all the stuff that’s going on in US politics.  The pipeline deal got approved?  I thought the refineries didn’t have any more capacity?  Is the oil for the domestic US market or for exports?  Facts vs Alt facts, illegal voters, NAFTA to be opened up for negotiation…

When I’m on LinkedIn, I’ll come across some interesting articles.  I feel compelled to read them immediately because it looks important to my job search.  I also want to carve out some time to write and improve my photography.  And let’s not forget going to the gym.  Oh and time for reading too.

But I’m going to instill more focus and discipline in my job search.  I’ll have to set aside most of my time for it because that’s my priority.  If I can dedicate some quality time to this, then the rest should find its time.

To deal with all the negative stuff going on, I’m going to focus on doing what’s good in my corner of the world.  I came across this quote.

“Do all the good you can, by all the means you can, in all the ways you can, in all the places you can, at all the times you can, to all the people you can, as long as ever you can.”

It’s been wrongly attributed to John Wesley from my brief research.  Yes, I even spent time to make sure I could rightfully attribute the quote.  I haven’t been able to find who actually said this.  But I like it and will try to incorporate that into my every day living.

 

 

22 thoughts on “Focus and Discipline

  1. Great quote, Matt! Good motto for all of us! 🙂

    Best of luck in your job search!

    US politics have been VERY distracting of late. 😦 I try each day to focus on what is important and continue trying to make my corner of the world better place for those around me…but, also, branching out to the world in donations and charity efforts.

    This Robert Kennedy quote has been encouraging to me the past few months:
    “Each time a man (or woman) stands up for an ideal, or acts to improve the lot of others, or strikes out against injustice, he (she) sends forth a tiny ripple of hope, and crossing each other from a million different centers of energy and daring those ripples build a current which can sweep down the mightiest walls of oppression and resistance.”

    HUGS!!! 🙂

      • Quite good. Feeling lazy and I don’t have any responsibilities or people to answer to. It’s interesting. I feel like it’ll just be a phase that I’ll move out of eventually. I don’t want to find another normal job though if I can help it. Not being frustrated day to day is a great life.

Leave a Reply

