Tough Love

“It’s a good start.”  Then the pen slashed across the hardcopy of my LinkedIn summary.    It wasn’t the feedback I wanted to hear.  But it was probably the feedback I needed to hear.  It’s back to the drawing board.  But it wasn’t all discouraging news.  My counselor took pains to highlight my people skills.  He told me he could see why people feel comfortable talking with me.  He knows how to gently push and nudge us past our comfort zone.  I jotted down more tips including making time for myself.  I tested him by asking how he managed transitioning from one job to another.  But he was smart enough to quickly turn the conversation back towards me.

It still amazes me how my dad managed to keep his sanity while job hunting.  He didn’t have the benefit out outplacement services, LinkedIn, resume writing services…  He was motivated to keep his family together.

I’m motivated to find something that interests me.  I don’t have kids to feed and to put through school.  This entry isn’t ending the way I thought it would.  Maybe the hidden lesson is to be grateful for where I am.

13 thoughts on “Tough Love

  1. That lesson is a valuable one, Matt! Yay, you! 🙂
    And what you said about your Dad brought tears to my eyes. We have so many things to our advantage today that our parents and grandparents did not. We must remember that and be grateful…grateful for them AND for all the advantages we enjoy. 🙂
    Best of luck on the job find!
    HUGS!!! 🙂

  2. There is a saying in Farsi. “Deir Aayad, durust Aayad.” It means, “it” may come late, but “that” would be the best! So. patience is the key.
    دیر آ ید، درست آید ۔

Leave a Reply

