Kaohsiung update

I rarely sit and do nothing on my vacation but that’s what I did for a few days at Kenting.  My brother text me while I was half napping poolside after breakfast.  He had just come home after a very long day at work (this was around 11Pm).  I told him he interrupted my morning nap.  Brotherly love was quickly unraveled.  

We went to Kaohsiung afterwards for a few days.  The heat and the humidity slowed me down a bit.  I’m always nervous about street food but have been eating them in Taiwan for a couple of years.

Pepper pork bun fresh from the oven.  It took awhile for this to cool down.  I figured anything fresh from an oven (looks a bit like a Tandoori oven) can’t have any germs or bacteria.


 Fish ball soup:


Seafood congee 

Steamed crab meat


Abalone – it was quite tender.

The guy who cooked the abalone.

​​
Dumplings with ginger in chili oil and a cold beer.

A view of the tables beside our table.  It’s not exactly 5 star place but my tummy was fine.

We also went to the Fo Guang Shan temple just outside of Kaohsiung.  There’s a bus from the Zuoying High Speed Rail station that will take you there but keep an eye for the last bus (18:23).  I’m not Buddhist but I feel a sense of tranquility when I’m here.  

While in Kaohsiung we also revisited the Lotus Pond.  We saw some of it last year at dusk but got drenched when the skies opened up.  This year we found an easier way to get there.  We took a local train from Kaohsiung Main Station to Zuoying (one stop) and it was about a 10 minute walk.


The Dragon and Tiger Pagoda with depictions of heaven and hell inside.  You enter through the Dragon’s mouth and exit from the Toger’s mouth on the right.

This was a temple across the street. I believe this is called Cihji or Ciji Temple and is part of the pagodas.  


The Chi Ming Tang temple, it was stunning inside.  I didn’t take pictures because I wasn’t sure if it was allowed.

I also saw this interesting shaped tree while walking around Lotus Pond.  Maybe it was trained to grow this way when it was still a sapling.


Turtles!  I saw lots of them by the Guan Yin statue. 


That’s it for now.  I go back to Taipei, then to Thailand for 3 days before returning to Taipei for more relaxing.  

33 thoughts on “Kaohsiung update

  1. For some reason I had no fear of eating from the carts anywhere I went in Asia. But would never consider doing that in Mexico. Lol
    I have been to kaohsiung and Taipei. But that was a long time ago.

  2. Enjoy the photos very much, yummy. The first photo takes imagination to figure out, hehe. Envy your relaxed vacation time, glad you decided to take this trip. Look forward to more travel blogs,

  3. How exciting! What fun! Take a nap for me! (I rarely get a nap.)
    Glad the food has been good, and good TO you! Everything looks delicious!
    The other photos make me feel at peace, just looking at them!
    Oh, the turtles are wonderful and cute!
    Give us an update from Bangkok!
    HUGS and continued safe travels! 🙂

  4. i think it should be safe to eat at any street food vendor when in taiwan. taiwan is pretty clean. when in south east asia however, well, that could be a different story.

  5. Hi Mattie, I have been hoping that you would post some thing about your travels. I am so glad you did. Very happy that you are trying so many different foods and taking it easy. Saw your smudged face on fb wher you had posed with Tawn and Chris. So wonderful that you met them and had fun in Bangkok. Enjoy your stay and live it up. Relax and have a blast.

  6. I’m late to your post, sorry! I’m also back from Bali and catching up. Great pictures, Matt and I’m now craving the foods pictured in your post. I hope you are still have a wonderful time. xox
    eden

Leave a Reply

