Taiwan update

I made it to Taiwan safe and sound.  We’re here for the third consecutive year.  We flew on EVA again on their Elite (premium economy) class.  Check in was a breeze as they have separate line.  The flight looked full (our section was filled up).  We tried to upgrade to business class using our points but the agent at Star Alliance said our ticket class or fare class doesn’t allow for an upgrade.  Oh well.

The EVA Airways staff were polite and efficient. There were 3 young kids (2 were twins) and the flight attendants paid special attention to them.  Our plane seemed a bit worn down (Boeing 777) but it got us there safely.  The food was ok.  The baked fish in a cream sauce was dry.  The congee I had for breakfast was better.

1.  The wake up mood lighting for breakfast.


2.  Congee with preserved egg and lean pork, side dishes of pumpkin and snap peas, carrot with dried shredded bean curd, 3 pieces of fruit and a croissant.


 We spent the first day in Taipei.  The heat and humidity made walking around more strenuous.  My polo shirt was soaked in sweat.  But snacks like this chilled tofu pudding helped me through the day.

3. Chilled tofu pudding, one has peanuts and the other one has red bean.  


We spent the first day in Taipei.  It’s a wonderful city with many small streets and lanes.
4.  Small restaurant off a side street.


5.  These guys were putting together box lunches of braised pork hock, bamboo shoots, some veggies and rice.   There was a steady line up of customers.


Then it was off to Kenting in the southern part of Taiwan.  I took some pics from the bus.  

6.  Fishing boats (I think)

7.  Fish pond


8. Kenting Night Market 

Top:  sticky rice and sausage

Middle: grilled chicken roll

Bottom: shrimp cake deep fried between 2 sheets of rice paper


That’s it for now.  I’m vegging out since I’ve been here.  I just wished there was a decent bookstore nearby but other than that, life is good.

I hope everyone is doing well.  

21 thoughts on “Taiwan update

    • You’re right about the heat and humidity. It was very tough the first day. I don’t think I’ll ever get used to it. I’m heading to Kaoshiung in a couple of days. It’s really humid there.

  1. Enjoy reading your post, look forward to more. My mouth water when I think of din tai Fung dumplings, and hope you are enjoying your eye candies. 🙂

  2. If possible, add some lemon juice to your water Matt, that way you will have some electrolytes; neat pictures. I could almost smell the fish!! Have fun, stay safe. love and hugs. ❤ ❤ ❤
    Safe travels wherever you go.

  3. Whee! I’m finally caught up with you in Taiwan just before I leave for Bali. The food and pix are fantastic. I’ll be blogging while in Ubud. It will probably be like your post, more of a picture blog than a written one, but like they say .. a picture is worth a thousand words, right?

    Hope you’re having a super time, Matt. Thanks for sharing, and look forward to more!
    xo
    eden

  4. OH! Thank you for taking us along with you, Matt! Love the photos! And now I’m hungry! Wonder why. ??? 😀
    Relax, enjoy the good food, rest, be safe, and have fun fun FUN! 🙂
    When it’s hot humid, I try to drink lots of water or coconut water.
    HUGS!!! 🙂

  5. Hmmm, my comment didn’t post properly. Anyways, what I said was:

    Looks like you’re having a great time there. Always love Taiwan for the yummy food, friendly people and good looking men. 😜

    The only thing I don’t like is the humidity which you mentioned. It’s soooo draining. Hope to see more pics!

  6. i have always wanted to try the premium economy class. hope i’ll get a chance in the future. as for taiwan, you can never go wrong with braised pork hock on rice. YUM.

Leave a Reply

