Packing Heavy

The moments before I leave on any trip is always a bit stressful for me.  I don’t know how to pack light.  When I traveled on business, I always made sure I had an extra shirt, socks, tie, tshirt and underwear just in case.  Maybe the years of working in IT always made me plan for the worse.  I even carried a small clothes steamer to get the wrinkles out of my suit(s).

For this upcoming trip, I’ve got some warm clothes even though I’m going to Asia because the AC in the hotel rooms can be pretty cold.  It’ll also be cold when I return.  I packed enough for about 5 to 6 days without doing laundry.  I’ll see if I can slim this down a bit more.  I don’t remember how I managed to fit everything into a backpack before.  As long as I have the mandatory things like my meds, eye glass, money, phone, passport, tickets, basic toiletries – I should be fine.  I can always buy clothes if I forget something.

I guess I don’t need to pack my rice cooker.

img_4039

p.s. I have never tried updating using the WordPress app on my phone.  I’m going to try doing it when I travel.

24 thoughts on “Packing Heavy

  1. I think you have the right attitude. Pack the essentials and you can always buy if you forget. I only ever travel with a carry on suitcase even if I’m travelling for 3 weeks. 🙂

  2. Oh, I thought you had left on Saturday. Obviously you meant next Saturday! yeah Matt, travel light. It is so hassle free then. Hmmm, rice cooker, naah! don’t bother. Every where you go, there will be oodles of rice I am sure.
    happy and safe traveling. Love and hugs.

  3. I pack pretty light but when I travel, I try to make room for my full sized pillow. It’s more worth it for me to get proper sleep than to use shitty hotel pillows!

  4. Hahaha! Rice cooker? I’m going to start packing for Bali tomorrow, but I’m taking a big suitcase, though it won’t be full. In my twenties, I traveled with a backpack, like it was some kind of personal victory to fit everything I owned into it. I guess I’m older, not necessarily wiser, but I like a bit more comfort and don’t want to do laundry.

    I’ll have a carry on of my laptop and a small knapsack with my essentials. I figure that works!
    eden

  5. lol. yeah, no need for a rice cooker. we got plenty of rice cooked and ready for sale all over asia 🙂 ps: if you get cold in your hotel room, you can always adjust the temperature, no? just hope you got enough undies and socks and t-shirts, as i’m sure you’ll sweat a lot here in south east asia.

Leave a Reply

