Keeping Up

I have a cable technician coming in tomorrow to do some work on my unit.  I have to move my desk, boxes, filing cabinets etc… so the tech has access to the cable and phone plugs.  I took advantage of this to do some cleaning and (sigh) decluttering.  I still have a ton of stuff to get rid of.  My unit has hardwood floors and I have this plastic sheet underneath my desk and chair to protect the floor.

When I removed it this morning, there was a lot of sticky residue that took hours of hard scrubbing with a several hot and damp microfiber rags to wipe off.  Sadly there was also damage to the floor.  The finish flaked off when I pulled the plastic sheet off the floor.  There’s also a lot of grooves where my chair was.  While this isn’t the end of the world, it’s just frustrating.   To top it off, while I was venting to J about this, I was puzzled why my phone’s battery was so low.  I seem to be always recharging it lately and I’m not exactly a heavy duty user.  I’m worried that I may have to replace the battery and I better do this before I travel.

Yep, I’m off to Asia instead of looking for a job.  It’s hard not to feel guilty but now that I have some time, J (and others) convinced me this will be good.  Even my job counselor agreed said this was great.  But there’s just so much to do before I go.  I just hope I don’t snore on the plane.  I’ve never blogged from my phone but maybe I’ll give it a try when I’m traveling.

 

17 thoughts on “Keeping Up

  1. YAY, Matt! Enjoy your traveling with J! I think this is will great for you! And if you snore on the plane you won’t be the first person (nor the last person) to do that! 😀
    HUGS!!! and take photos!!! 🙂

  2. Maybe your phone has lots of stuff running when you don’t really need them too. Especially stuff like apps being updated and refreshed? Just a guess.

    Sorry to hear about your floors.

    Enjoy Asia and your holiday! What will you be looking to do apart from meeting friends?

    • I think that battery finally gave way. I left it alone at night and it went from 77% to 15% (when it shut down). I think we’ll just be relaxing most of the time. I always worry about trips except when I travel solo.

      How are things going with you?

      • Ahh so it was the battery! Hope you get a new batt or new phone soon 🙂

        Things are good with me. Been studying mandarin and working on what I’ll do next as a career change – thinking of studying psychology. So I’m looking at options to getting into it. Think I found a way but I haven’t sorted all the details yet.

  3. Have you read the recently popular book “the life-changing magic of tidying up”? it takes about decluttering/tidying and I think it would be a refreshing book for you if you haven’t read it already

Leave a Reply

