I Don’t Really Have Problems

I woke up early went out to grab a coffee.  There weren’t a lot of people at the coffee shop and I grabbed a seat in front of the store’s window and started to read.  After reading for awhile, something on the sidewalk caught my eye. I looked up and saw an elderly homeless woman standing on the sidewalk just staring ahead.  I went back to my reading.  After awhile, I looked up and she still hasn’t moved.  She seemed to be sleeping standing up.

Great… I wanted a nice quiet coffee break with a book and I didn’t want to see this.   I’ve seen this woman before.  This time she was in bad shape.  She moved a few steps and then  remained motionless again with her eyes almost shut.  It looked like she was wearing her hoodie upside down and most of her left shoulders were showing.

A man in grey sweat pants approached her. The chatted for awhile.  I didn’t know what he was up to so I watched him.  But he got her a glass of water from the coffee shop.  She sat down, carefully inserted the straw into the cup and drank.  The man sat down with her.  I checked to see if I had any loose change but I didn’t.  She slowly got up and walked away with her water.

I get too self absorbed in my own “problems”.  I’m sure she would have loved my problems.

 

15 thoughts on “I Don’t Really Have Problems

  1. She probably has more problems than you are aware. Many chose to live homeless and know where they can go for help but usually ignore it for many reasons. There have been “bums” for a lack of a better term, probably since man became “civilized “. At least you noticed but I’m sure she really didn’t need your problems too. 😉
    Sitting in that coffee shop observing could give you plenty of material for a book if not at least a blog post. Lol

    • I agree with you. I see so many panhandlers in my area, young and old. I try to carry some loose change with me when I’m walking around. But in Canada, our $1 and $2 are in coins and I’ve handed those out too by accident. The more aggressive panhandlers ask for $2.

      I do like people watching and you’re right, it does give me a lot of writing material.

      • Matt, it’s so hard to compare problems, and I suppose we can never know what it’s like to be in another person’s shoes unless we switch places with them. Remember that movie, TRADING PLACES with Eddie Murphy and Dan Ackroyd? The only thing we can be is empathetic, give what we can, and send positive vibes to those who are less fortunate than we are.

        eden

  2. I have found we shouldn’t compare our problems to other people’s problems…we all have problems….they’re just different. And what I think are problems might not be problems to another person and etc. and so on and so forth. (I can’t spell “vice versa”)
    I tried to help some homeless people in Southern CA…some of them wanted help, some didn’t. We got one guy a job and a home to live in, etc. And he didn’t last long and decided he’d rather live under the underpass of the freeway. He was content and didn’t want the life we thought he should want.
    But we kept taking water, food, and blankets to him for several years. 🙂
    You are compassionate, Matt, and that is what matters. (See, even your name is a part of the word “matters”! You make a positive difference! 🙂 )
    Good blog post!
    HUGS!!! 🙂

  3. Everyone has problems. From my own “homeless” experience, I would actually say that having no home, no family and no job, you actually have much less burden than when you enmeshed in the societal jungle trying all the time to be better, have enough money, have enough things, to stay afloat compared to your specific class of people. Homeless people just need to find a place to lie down, and hustle enough to get a burger at mcdonalds. It would be more complicated if you were ill, but.

  4. this was such a thoughtful post. i used to work for an artist who was quite wealthy, but he would complain about his problems. and i remember thinking, “wow – i would totally love to be in his shoes – to have all this money, to travel and do what you love for a living,” but he still seemed so miserable. so i wonder if we are wired to complain sometimes. but i think if appreciate more, we become happier people – regardless of how much we do or do not have.

  5. you know what they say, the grass always seems greener from the other side. but we still can’t help feeling our problems are the worst, only because they are ours.

Leave a Reply

