Gym

J and I have very different approaches to gym.  The gym in my condo is ok but it’s on the small side.  There are 2 thread mills, a universal gym, free weights, a couple of bikes and stair master.  When there’s 2 or 3 people in there, I can’t get to my stuff.  And most of the people in my condo are fit and it seems they exercise a bit longer than average.  So I go late at night.  Now that my days are free, I go during the day time.

On the other hand, J goes to a gym where there are some hot Asians.  He told me many times works out longer because they are there.  I used to go to these big gyms.  I liked the music but I just had to stay in my own quiet zone.  I like the solitude of stretching by myself and “listening” to my body.

I have to confess that my body is always telling me to take it easy.  Today I wanted to go to the gym but my body told me I should be working on my resume instead.  I did go to the gym eventually.  I tell myself that I’m not going to hit my target weight in a month.  I’m lasting a bit longer on the thread mill.  I don’t count how much of that is walking vs running.  I do a bit more on the free weights.  As long as I’m active and sweating, I know I’m doing something right.

Does watching workout videos count as working out?  (no dirty jokes …)

16 thoughts on “Gym

      • Awesome! Keep it up! As I understand it, squats are good for thighs, butt and lower body strength which in turn gives you better posture, which then leads to many good things like good breathing.

      • Yeah, I dragged myself again to do some cardio on the thread mill yesterday. I had to do that because I knew I was gonna eat at a buffet last night. I ate mostly veggies, fish and chicken but had some fried dumplings and a sushi roll too. Thank goodness I don’t go to buffets regularly.

  1. I have been going to the gym several times a week since January, but have not lost any weight. 😦 I guess I have to start eating less and avoid midnight snack. Btw, J looks great in the video. 🙂

    • I’ve been trying to watch my food intake as I still love fried rice, noodles, congee, dimsum…. but I have reduced my intake of carbs and sugars, eating more veggies and fruits. It’s weekend eating when I’m out that is difficult to control.

  2. It’s good that you at least go to the gym. I haven’t been in a year but hopefully I will be swimming soon. I like J’s thinking though…I’d workout longer if there were hot guys around.

  3. i go to GoldGym. been a member for few years now. and i go for the classes. it’s easier when you are in a room with others around, following instructions for an hour at a time. i have no motivation to exercise on my own outside classes.

Leave a Reply

