Fast Cars…

I attended a free day at Toronto’s Honda Indy last Friday.  It’s an Indy Car race on a temporary street circuit.  I’ve never attended this race before and Friday was a practice session.  I think they started doing the free day a few years ago to rebuild the fan base after a few years of decline.  The downtown location is convenient for the fans, racers and sponsors.  All the restaurants, bars and nightlife are very close by.

One of the best spots to watch the race is at the corner of Lakeshore Blvd and Ontario Drive, just on the western edge of Ontario Place.   It’s the famous turn 3 where cars have to slow down after long straightaway in order to make a hard right turn.   The practice sessions for the various races were well underway by the time I made my way down to the stand at turn 3.

1.  Stadium Super Trucks – their course included several ramps and it was amazing watching them jump.

IMG_2318

2.  Cooper Tires USF2000 – this is a training ground series of races  for young drivers.  The cars are all powered by Mazda engines.  I think the car #92 (at the top) is driven by Cameron Das and the #9 car (on the bottom) is driven by Victor Franzoni.  I didn’t expect to see anyone overtake under braking during the practice session but #9 managed to do this.

IMG_2432

3.1   Verizon Indy Car Series  driver:  Scott Dixon IMG_2741

3.2   Takuma Sato entering into turn 3.

IMG_2943

3.3  Driver: Canada’s James HincliffeIMG_2886

4.  Indy Lights presented by Cooper TiresDriver: Dean Stoneman

love the front tire locking up under hard braking…

IMG_3191

There were a couple more practice sessions after this but I was getting tired from sitting in the sun for a few hours.  But I love the roar of the engines and even the smell of the exhaust.  I didn’t buy the paddock pass for $40.  I’m still a little gun shy about spending money.  But it looks interesting from what I could see.   I hope to be back next year.

17 thoughts on “Fast Cars…

  1. That’s cool! you seem like a bit of a petrol head, hehe. Perks of living in a big city like Toronto is that you get to attend more cool events like this.

  2. So cool! Glad you got to attend, Matt! Great photos of some amazing vehicles! Some of them look space-ship-py! No wonder they can fly! 🙂
    Did you have a favorite?
    Vroom-Vroom-HUGS!!! 🙂

    • Vrrooooom…. the other thing I like is driving on Lakeshore Blvd when they have all the barriers and fences up. It’s also neat to see all the tire marks from the race cars too.

      It was fun but hot. I had sunscreen, hat, water and ear plugs to get me through the day.

  3. Pingback: Local racing in Toronto. I love it. Maybe time for a career change!

Leave a Reply

