Your snoring was loud…

That was one of the feedback from the sleep doctor.  I had gone to a sleep clinic a few days ago on a hot summer night.  It took about 30 minutes for the technician to wire me up.  I sent  J a selfie and he proclaimed “OMG you look scary”.  My hair was covered with a sticky gel.  There were 2 straps on my chest, wires from my legs, my head and something to measure my breathing strapped close to my nose.  By the time I was wired up, I had some time to read (no TV).  I took a sleeping pill (they were fine with that) about an hour before I slept.  Once the technician turned off the lights, I was out.  I woke up just before 5 to check the time and rolled back to a light sleep.  They woke me up before 6.  I washed my face but my hair looked like it had chewing gum all over it.

Lucky for me, I had my baseball cap with me and wore it as I walked home.  I even stopped by a McDonald’s for a couple of Egg McMuffins and coffee.  Once I got home, I showered to get that sticky gel off me.

The results were in a couple of days later.  The doctor went through my sleep stages, oxygen levels, body position (I didn’t move as much as I thought), the amount of deep sleep etc…  I was staring at his monitor as he described the data for me.  My eyes stopped at a line called “spontaneous arousal”.  He didn’t bring it up and I didn’t ask.  Bottom line, I only have mild sleep apnea and I don’t need a CPAP machine.  Whew.

I wasn’t surprised by the loud snoring.  It wakes me up sometimes.  I used an app called SnoreLab and it confirmed I snored a lot and loud.   He gave me some recommendations so I’ll check those out.

 

16 thoughts on “Your snoring was loud…

  1. Oh, Matt, I’m so glad your sleep apnea is mild and you don’t need the CPAP machine! YAY! 🙂
    Sounds like an interesting night! I’ve known people who’ve had that same procedure…but they’ve never described it to me…so I didn’t know about the gel stuff! Ew! 😮
    Oh! and so glad your most important part is working well! 😛 Were you dreaming about someone?!
    HUGS!!! 🙂

  2. Firstly, I’m glad that you only have mild sleep apnea! That’s the score I got too. I do remember that icky gel that was in my hair in the morning and having to go to work with no shower and just wetting my hair to try and get rid of it. Re your snoring what were the recommendations if you don’t mind sharing? Apparently I snore too…

    • I tried wetting my hair but couldn’t get rid of it.

      The biggest recommendation was an over the counter oral appliance. The doctor said I could get it online too. The example he showed me was ApneaRx. A dentist can do a customized one but it will be costly. He estimates $1,000 to $1,500 (CDN). I could lose a bit more weight but he said most South East Asians snore (something about our jaw structure). My parents snored too. I sleep on my side and that doesn’t help reduce my snoring.

      But yeah, I’m relieved I didn’t have to fork out $ for a CPAP machine.

  3. I’m a loud snorer too & often wakes me up when I snooze off in public. I want to go to a sleep clinic, sometimes I get this episodes of sleep paralysis/nightmares and it scares me. I feel like I’m haunted. Mostly happens when I lack sleep.

    • I used to get sensations of being paralyzed too. The only thing I can do is opening my eyes and observing what’s going on around me. I think it’s in the stage when I’m just hovering between sleep and being awake. I always have to shake myself to wake up. You’re right – it’s scary. Do what you can to improve the quality of your sleep. I was surprised to read how much the lack of sleep can affect my health.

      • That’s exactly what I go through and exactly the reason. The thing is every Sat morning after my Friday shift I try not to sleep so I get normal night sleep on my weekend.

      • Oh wow… I taught myself to stay calm when it happened. It eventually subsided but I still get it a couple of times a year. I hope you will find a way to deal with this.

  4. i may need one of these tests. haven’t been able to get a good sleep lately. not that it had been that great to begin with. but lately, it takes an extra hour or two to fall asleep than normal. and yes, i even use earplugs. anyways, let’s get back to you. forget the snoring part. now, tell me a bit more on this… spontaneous arousal thing. purely educational info for me, just to see if i have one too.

Leave a Reply

