An Apple a Day Keeps the Doctor Away

I got a full checkup at my dentist yesterday.  The only issue she raised was my receding gums.  So I need to be more careful and diligent with my dental hygiene.  I can’t rush it or skip flossing.  I have been pretty diligent but I think I’m rushing it.  Since I’m at home, I can do more flossing and use the waterpik a couple of times a day and take my time doing it.

Today I went to see my doctor on a follow up appointment.  After going through all the things, he made a referral for me at a sleep clinic.  I snore pretty loud the app I used indicated I snore most of the time.  I hope I don’t have sleep apnea.

Anyways, I go back in 3 months for a full checkup.  I always dread these things.

 

17 thoughts on “An Apple a Day Keeps the Doctor Away

  1. Oh coincidentally I have a dental appointment today and I’m sure they will tell me I have to floss more. I hope you don’t have sleep apnea either. My mom has it and she has to sleep with this machine to keep air flowing through her throat. I also have “mild” sleep apnea. The test is a bit disconcerting cause you’re hooked up with all these wires with someone watching you sleep all night via infrared camera… 😬

    • I was talking to a friend of mine who has it. He told me all about the sleep clinic, the mask etc… He sleeps a lot better with the CPAP machine now. I hope no one is gonna watch me sleep. I would feel so awkward.

  2. These are the right problems to have though! I try to remind myself of that when I feel down about the stressors in my life. It would be much more troubling to have gum disease or depression or rare cancer.

  3. My dentist has given up on me I am sure. I hate/dread going to him. I had no problem with my teeth all the years I lived in India. Only after coming here, and using the types of food and the toothpastes, I started having problem. Mother used to have a special tooth powder which she would have the servants grind up. and that’s what we used. i used that even after I came here, but once I was out of it, I had to start using these different tooth pastes. I wish I could get that tooth powder again.
    I hope you don’t have sleep apnea either Matt.

  4. I recall a few years ago the dentist mentioned my receding gums and suggested switching from the electric toothbrush I was using to a Sonic Care, which is more gentle but still effective. Don’t know if that’s an option. Also, there are the softer bristles available.

  5. I think we all dread those things. So we understand and we care, Matt.
    I hope you don’t have sleep apnea.

    Best of luck with your health…from the top of your head to the bottoms of your feet and everything in between, especially your teeth and gums.
    HUGS!!! 🙂

  6. That reminds me, I need to make an appointment soon. I usually don’t have problems with my oral hygiene because I never ever want to be there for more than a cleaning session. My horrible gag reflex is usually the biggest reason for me putting off visiting the dentist…oops, too much information!

    • I don’t normally gag but this time when the dental assistant put those xray film in the back of my mouth – I was gagging like crazy. She kept telling me to breath through my mouth. I was getting really annoyed with her.

  7. i just made an appointment with my dentist for a regular cleaning session next week. i don’t floss. i find my gym bleeds easily whenever i try to do so. so i just have my teeth cleaned every 4 months.

Leave a Reply

