Moving On

A year or so ago, I thought if I ever get cut from my job, I would just travel for awhile, write, take pictures and live off my severance for a while.  Maybe it’ll be in some tropical country where I can veg out in some beach hut (wait… I need a real toilet).  I’ll just wander from city to city and enjoy some solo travel like I used to do.  Although I have to confess, I’ve gone used to nice hotel rooms and traveling in at least premium economy.  Maybe I will do something like this.  Who knows.  If I show up at your door step, I hope I won’t scare you.  Oh dear readers, I’ve been stalking all of you so I know where you live.

It’s taken me awhile to get used to not doing anything at work.  I have time to go for a walk in the morning if I wake up early.  I can even sneak out at lunch time for a walk or read for a few minutes.  I pretty well disconnect at 5PM.  I don’t check emails at night because no one sends me anything.  In fact, I’m like a guy on death row.  No one at work talks to me aside from my immediate team.

So I have one more month before they kick me out the door.  I’ll be living on my savings and whatever severance I will get.  I’ve held off on buying a new camera but I did buy a new (refurbished) laptop.  The old one kept flashing pink lines in areas that are normally white and it was getting harder to work with it.  Aside from job hunting, I do want to get back to writing.  I realized that short story I was writing here (Rigby and Kelvin) has been stagnant fro almost a year.

N0w which one of you should I visit first?

21 thoughts on “Moving On

  1. Oh! I hope you do get to do some traveling, Matt!
    And still sending bestest wishes and prayers your way for what your future holds! Hope the job hunting and the writing go well! 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂

  2. Sounds like you are in a more positive mindset, which is great! Sometimes we just got to go with the flow and see where life takes us. I do hope you get to go on holidays!

Leave a Reply

