Staying Alive

“In the past 30 days, have you stopped performing any activities that you enjoy?”  It was a question posed to me by my dietician.  I knew what she was trying to ask but I didn’t see the connection between depression and diet.  I was even skeptical about seeing a dietician but my doctor recommended I see her because  my blood sugar was beginning to creep up.

The dietician explained that there is a relationship between diabetes and depression.  But no one is certain if one causes the other.  She then asked if I had trouble sleeping.  I told her I did. Then she wanted to know if I snore.  I replied I do.  She then spent some time going over how blood sugar levels can be affected by the lack of sleep.

She gave me a lot of tips and information about diet and stress  She recommended that I add resistance training to my regime of walking.  I did a bunch of exercises with some weights the other day.  I did squats and lunges to work my legs. They are so sore right now.  Even my birthing muscles are hurting.

Aside from inflicting pain on myself, I’ve been spending time rewriting my resume and LinkedIn profile.  I’m also working with a job counseling firm too.

I hope everyone is doing well.

29 thoughts on “Staying Alive

  1. I am glad you are exercising Matt, and that you are in the care of a dietician who will guide you right.
    I know you will do well in your job hunt. Have been thinking of you, and have missed you on WP. Glad you are back. Love and hugs.

    • Exercising is painful, dreadful, awful… The dietician said I could eat rice and carbs but in small portions and preferably complex carbs. I also learned that al dente pasta is better than overcooked pasta in terms of glycemic index. I still have a few more weeks of employment and I lead a simple life although I want a new camera, a new car, new clothes… hahaha.

  2. Diet and good health are intricately related, and then you throw in exercise and it becomes a complicated mess at times. Like you, I’ve never been much for exercise but I’ve eaten well most of my life. Growing up with the Chinese diet is good, plenty of vegetables and not too heavy on the meat. The problem is rice, which I love but try not to eat too much of anymore. Many Asians develop diabetes due to the lifelong intake of white rice. Moderation is key, and brown rice and more complex grains can substitute. (I’m not a big fan of brown rice but I can eat it).

    Stay strong. You seem to have a lot going on, and it’s always nice to touch base. xo
    eden

  3. Oh I should mention that I started working out regularly (3-4 times a week, 30 – 45 min at a time) back in August 2015. I gradually increased that to 5-6 times a week and now it’s more like 6.5 times a week, 1-2 hours at a time, usually in the morning or early afternoon. This took about 9 months to progress to this point. In addition to building strength/muscle/endurance and losing fat, I have noticed that I wake up much more alert (usually before my alarm which I set for 8 hours after the time I go to bed). I fall asleep much faster (within 5 minutes instead of 30 minutes or more, which used to be the norm) and I wake up not feeling tired (but usually sore in some part of my body). My appetite increased a lot and I now eat at least 4 times a day (about every 3 hours or less), even if it’s just a snack. I stick to the 80% healthy/20% fat rule, but I try to eat like 90% of my diet as unprocessed foods. The exceptions are the occasional belvita crackers, popcorners, vegan protein powder, etc, but never any junk food like cheetos, fast food, etc. I try to eat healthy fats like avocado, avocado/grapeseed/coconut oil, or anything naturally occurring in unprocessed foods (even animal fats, especially from fish).

    Hope this helps and I’ve really embraced the nutrition/fitness world. Before this, I would wake up groggy at 11am after sleeping for 10 hours. Now I wake up at 7:45am feeling awake and well rested. Please reach out if you want to chat about diet or exercise!

      • Haha that would be fun but I’m no saint and still learning. Plus I don’t think anyone would pay me for advice if I didn’t have a six pack and sculpted muscles.

  4. You do seem to have a lot on your plate right now, but I guess the main thing people want is for you to feel happier, so then you can feel healthier. However, I certainly understand, I do not feel satisfied or happy when things are too unpredictable for me. It stresses me out all hours of the day, so dealing with the major stressors in my life first always help me feel “better”, and then I can eat and sleep like a normal human being, rather than eating and feeling like a 20 year old ignorant college student (so to speak).

    Take care!

    • Yeah, I have a full plate. I like dealing with the major stressors first thing while I’m fresh and have lots of energy. Btw – where is your blog? I clicked on sideofheart and blacktarheart but both aren’t showing anything.

      • Yes, when you have energy you can knock things out one by one. !

        Oh, hmm. Thanks for letting me know that, I changed the URL for the blog and I guess it isn’t linking correctly. I will have to fix that.

  5. This reminds me of how you said you fear growing old alone. How are you going on the friends front? You have a support network online but how about offline? This is your life Matt, do you think there’s an urgent need to change anything about how you go about your days?

  6. yes. it hurts. especially if you’re
    not used to exercising. but don’t give up. it gets easier once you’re doing is more regularly. you can add resistance little by little. i try to exercise at least 3x a week. once because i want to be able to eat more without guilt 😊

Leave a Reply

