Chomp, munch, slurp… *burp*

I’ve been trying to eat better for the past few months.  I eat less rice although I do binge every so often (congee, fried rice, rice noodles…. all in the same meal).  I try to eat more veggies and fruits.  For breakfast, I’ve switched to primarily to oatmeal.  Sometimes I’ll add some bananas, fruits and nuts to it.  Other times, I’ll add an egg into it to give it a bit more protein.  I’ll usually sweeten it a bit with honey or maple syrup.   I don’t use milk since I can’t handle the lactose.  One day I didn’t have any fruits or nuts.  I looked around and added peanut butter.  It may sound odd but it actually tasted fine. But then again, I like peanut butter.

For meals, I eat more chicken and fish.  I still have pasta but I try to watch the serving sizes.  I still eat beef and pork but not regularly.  I sometimes will have pasta salad but I add veggies, chick peas, tomatoes, shrimps and a basic oil and vinegar dressing with mustard.

I’m not going to be on the cover of Men’s Health magazine anytime soon.  I still give way to cravings when I eat out.  I still make fried rice and congee from time to time. I really try to avoid late night snacking.  Now I brush, floss and water pik after dinner.  It’s a pain and I don’t want to do that again if I snack.  Plus when I want to go to sleep, I don’t have to go through all that at night.  I can just hit the sack.

So far I’ve lost about 10 lbs in about 5 months.  It’s not the greatest but it’s progress.  I now have to work on increasing my cardio, strength and flexibility.

 

15 thoughts on “Chomp, munch, slurp… *burp*

  1. That’s quite an impressive weight loss. Did you only achieve this by changing your diet? My suspicion is that cooking at home is a better way to stay healthy than when one always eats out.

  2. I’m also eating healthier (in the last 6 months) and I’ve stopped buying white rice completely (since a year ago). Surprisingly, I don’t miss it much. I eat maybe once a month if I go out to an Asian restaurant that serves it. I now eat brown rice, oatmeal, sometimes quinoa, whole wheat pasta (very rarely), and sweet potato as my non-protein, non-vegetable side.

    • I don’t think I’m at your level yet in terms of fitness and nutrition. I have whole wheat pasta too but I can’t get used to the taste and texture. I think the amount of carbs is still the same although it is healthier.

      • It’s slightly healthier than regular pasta but neither have much nutrition to them. I’ve tried to replace my carb part of my meal with more vegetables or at least a controlled portion size of healthy grains. Instead of regular bread I have a tortilla or Ezekiel bread which is made with sprouted grains

  3. Congrats on the weight loss! And the healthier eating! I eat a lot of oatmeal for breakfasts…I need to try the adding peanut butter! What a smart idea! 🙂 I mostly add fruit and nuts. But, their is always PB in the house.
    I fixed myself a stuffed bell pepper the other night for dinner. It was great! I stuffed it with lots of veggies! 🙂
    Keep up the great work, Matt! :-)A
    HUGS!!! 🙂

  4. 10 pounds in 5 months? that sounds a lot. congrats to you then. what matters is health.
    i don’t really stick to a particular diet, but i tend to prefer to eat brown/red rice for lunch when i can. and i do that on regular basis. primarily because i don’t get sleepy afterward, like i do when i eat white rice or bread or pasta/noodle. this helps me to stay awake during the day for work. i do eat less red meats (unless it’s pork ;p) and make sure i always incorporate plenty of veggies in a meal, and a fruit at end of a meal to fill me up and as a dessert.
    there is no need for us to deprive ourselves of good food, but it always helps to consume everything in moderation and also be physically active. the reason i go to gym? so i can eat more 🙂

Leave a Reply

