Dear Kelvin

Dear Kelvin,

You’ve been on my mind lately.  Thanks for getting me through that writing course.  You helped me when I was stuck several times trying to figure out what to write.  I’m sure you heard me calling  your name as I wondered what I got myself into.  Although this was the first course I’ve taken, you reminded me through others to just have fun and to learn.  Instead of worrying that everyone else was better, I appreciated their gifts and talent.

You left footprints here and there in this wired world.  I’ve found fragments of your old blog and some stuff here and there.  I still feel your presence every so often especially when I get the urge to listen to Madonna ,  when I think about the Little Red Dot, and sometimes when I’m writing.

My reading at the open mic went well last night even though I was nervous.  I even got compliments from 2 strangers. Thanks for encouraging me all week to do this.

Until next time,

Matt

22 thoughts on “Dear Kelvin

  1. That’s a sweet entry. I’m sure you did well at the open mic. I can appreciate that public speaking is not everyone’s cup of tea, especially if you’re sharing your own writing.

    • The open mic was at the end and only 2 people participated. Several of the authors and students that spoke were very good. I kept thinking that I don’t belong here but I decided to just stay positive.

      When I entered the room, the guy looking after the sound board greeted me and asked if I was speaking at the open mic. I told him I probably won’t as I’m too nervous. He said don’t worry – even a lot of the writers that speak are nervous. He told me to just relax. When I left, I walked past him and shook his hand. He told me he was really happy that I decided to go up there and enjoyed my reading. I think the beer helped too. 🙂

  2. Kelvin must have been a wonderful person! Glad he helps you. (Has he passed? Or is far away?) What a sweet letter to him! 🙂
    Glad you participated in the open mic night, Matt! My youngest kid does that where she lives…shares her writing and poems at open mic nights in clubs, bookstores, coffee shops, etc. 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    • Wow… your youngest one does all this? It’s so hard to get up in front of a mic.

      Unfortunately Kelvin passed away many years ago. He was just in his early 30s. We crossed paths when he blogged on Xanga.

      • I’m sorry to hear about Kelvin. 😦 That is so young to die. 😦
        Yes, but she was in drama and speech and debate in high school and college…so it’s something she loves to do. Although, she said the first open mic night she did she was really nervous…performing her writing in front of people who did this a lot…some even for money. Guess it’s big on the East Coast and there are some people who are REALLY good at it.

  3. That was beautiful and sweet l, Matt. Kelvin sounds like he made a deep and beautiful on you. Congratulations on doing the open mic. I’m sure it’s something you don’t regret at all, and it sounds like you are happy you did it!

    • Yeah, he did make a big impression on me. I wrote about him before and I think I mentioned him when we were having coffee.

      I felt very happy that I did this. A classmate told me this will be a wonderful way to get my feet wet. I told her it will get wet because I’ll be peeing in my pants.

  4. I feel your sadness at the loss of Kelvin, but what comes across more so is your gratitude. To be grateful is such an important part of being human. A lovely tribute. 😉
    eden

  5. Yay for you to stand up and read your stuff at the open mic. What did you read? Was it the post here… the open letter to Kelvin? I wish I were there to hear you Matt.
    I have signed up for a writers’ retreat/convention. It will be for a weekend in the mountains of North Carolina in May. I am so excited about it. It is sponsored by The SUN Magazine. I love that magazine and the articles in it are just amazing. So the editor, Sy Safransky is getting this thing together. Only a few people will be attending it, and I am so happy that I got in. I will tell you all about it when I go there.
    Be well. love and hugs.

    • It took a fair bit of encouragement from others who were there. I read an assignment that was based on an entry a couple of years ago.

      This writer’s retreat sounds amazing. I know you’re gonna have a lot of fun there.

  6. my condolences on the passing of your friend kelvin. i don’t think i have read anything about him on your blog before. but bravo on your open mic night. i’m not sure i’d have the same courage to get up on stage in front of others to do what you did.

    • He passed a few years ago but I’ll always remember him.

      My classmate, the sound guy and my instructor gave me encouragement. Once I was up there, I couldn’t really see the audience and just read. I’m glad I did it.

Leave a Reply

