Unlocking My Dreams

I’ve been having trouble sleeping again the last few nights.  Last night I fell asleep shortly after 5 AM.  It was a restless sleep.  I woke up with a vague memory of a dream.  There was someone outside the door of my condo.  I looked through the peephole but could only see the man’s shirt.  He just kept standing there.  I quickly unlocked and locked my door thinking the noise would scare him off.  But it didn’t.  So I repeated it several times and also secured the door guard.

That’s all I remembered.

This morning I went to get the newspapers and found my door unlocked.

Maybe I left it unlocked when I came home last night.  Maybe the dream was to remind me to check the locks.

 

14 thoughts on “Unlocking My Dreams

  1. Wow! That is scary! Maybe you did sleep walk?

    In the end, though, I’m sorry to hear you’ve not been sleeping well. Have you seen a doctor about this? Maybe see a doctor again. Look after yourself, Matt!

    I also think it’s about time you and your partner move in together!

    • I don’t think I sleep walk. But Zakiah recommended some sleep walk alarm / motion detector and I’ll look into that. My doctor did give me some meds for sleeping. I’m taking some cold meds and didn’t want to mix them.

  2. It’s possible that you got up in your sleep and walked to the door. Matt, can you hang a bell of some thing that would chime when you sleep walk? You probably will never remember that you did that, and so it is a good idea to have some kind of soft alarm to help you.
    Sleep well tonight. love.

  3. Yikes! I find that scary. 😦
    But, agree that maybe your dream was a reminder.
    I think most sleepwalkers know that they sleepwalk.
    Better to be on the safe side…I know you can buy motion dectectors that would let you know.
    HUGS!!! 🙂
    PS…I’m a sleep-Talker! Big surprise! 😛

  4. Oh scary! I always have that nagging feeling of leaving my keys in the door and always have to get out of bed to double check. I hope you are getting better sleep since this post!

    • When a new neighbour moved in a few months ago, he kept leaving his keys on the door. I knocked on his door twice to remind him. On the 3rd time, I just left it there.

      Do you live in a condo or house? My sister left her keys in the house door once and it freaked her out when she remembered.

Leave a Reply

