The First Step

I’ve been formally told to look for a job internally as my position has been eliminated.  There’s a timeline that I need to do this by.  I have not been told what happens if I can’t find a job internally.  I was strangely calm when I found out the news.  I’ve already been looking internally but haven’t found anything.

I saw one position and the hiring manager was clear that the job wasn’t 9 to 5.  The candidate needs to spend time with the client off hours (breakfast meetings, lunches, after work meetings, attending client events…).  There were other jobs that I thought I could do but it requires me to be on call.  I’ve done that before and have missed sleep and personal time.  Part of this is due to the field I work in.  When you support critical IT systems and project, it’s really a 7/24 job.

If I can’t find a job internally by the deadline then that’s it.  I need a change anyways.  I had a good run with this company.  It’s time to move on to something different and focus on my health.   I’m worried financially but I’ll find ways to adjust.  I’m also going to stay positive and optimistic.

I guess I won’t have to write about work life balance issues anymore.  How’s everyone doing so far this year?

 

 

 

31 thoughts on “The First Step

  1. Good luck and best wishes with the job search, Matt! I hope you will find something that can eliminate some of the stress in your life and give you a good balance of other things…like sleep and fun fun FUN!
    Yes, keep optimistic and positive!
    I looked at the calendar and see we’re only 13 days into the New Year. Seems like it’s been a month or more to me. Ack. :/
    (((HUGS)))

    • Well – what’s happened to me has happened to others. I was sort of expecting this based on our current business conditions.

      I’ll need all the luck I can get so pls continue to send them my way. 🙂

  2. I hope you’ll continue to feel good about this change, Matt. Part of me selfishly feels that this is a good change for you – because your life is now going to change. I really, really hope this change will finally mean less work hours for you and basically no work stress for you. You have done so, so much for others and I hope your next chapter is one where you do something truly for yourself, to make your life a more happier one. How do you feel now?

    • Thanks for the kind words – much appreciated. 🙂

      I think the change will be good too. The part that will always worry me will be the financial impact of this change. I am hoping I will have enough to do a bit of traveling, upgrade my condo and maybe a newer car (I’ll have to buy used).

      I still feel ok although I can’t really focus too much on anything right now.

  3. Aww, I’m sorry to hear that your position was eliminated, but when one door closes, another one opens – I think this will be a blessing in disguise for you. You seem like such a hard worker, any company should be thrilled to have you.

  4. i so did not expect to hear of this. i’m sorry, matt. but do stay strong and positive. it is never a bad thing to be given a chance for a change. i guess deep down you already knew that this may happen sooner or later, and that you have prepared yourself mentally. we all worry about our financial standing, but yes, health comes first. personal happiness should take gain a priority, which it seems lacking in your current state. this may sound selfish of me, but i would like to read about you talking about how much more sleep you are getting, how much less worrisome and happier person you’ve become. i so want this for you. so i guess this change is what you really need, for your sake. hugs.

    • The days have been really quite at work so we have some time to work on our internal resume which can be sent to other managers. But it’s really odd. I’ve never had this much free time before and I used to complain about how busy I am. I still feel relatively calm but when I think about money, I get a bit stressed out. I do see this as a blessing in disguise. It’ll give me time to focus on my health. *hugs* back Rudy… thank you. 🙂

  5. As you know, you will be fine. People can do with much less financially when they must. But people cannot do with less quality time or less food or less sleep than needed.

  6. Matt, I hope you find a position outside of this company. Getting a job internally will make you feel uncomfortable, and you will wonder how long before they tell the same thing to you again. I am sure there are other companies in the Toronto area who will be happy to have someone with your expertise. Besides praying for you and wishing you the very best, I am not sure what else I should do. Stay strong and don’t give up on your self. You are very talented, and therefore believe in yourself. Love and hugs.

    • If I get a decent severance package, I might take a bit of time off and relax for awhile. If I don’t, I’ll have to look elsewhere. I’ve more or less decided that I want to do something different. Thank you for the prayers, hugs and love. I hope things are well with you – do take care.

  7. Sorry to hear of the loss. Job elimination and general volatility are part of the new age of changing economic times and technology jumps.

    If you can, try to meet with a job coach or good friend who can help you access all your skills and what they would be best suited for. Having someone else look at our abilities objectively can be quite helpful.

    Also consider all your options, which include any entrepreneurial ventures that may have crossed your mind.

    If fortune smiles and you lock onto a new job quickly, be sure to space out the time you need to start from your last day at the current job- take as much time as you can – at least three weeks to a month for vacation/decompression.

Leave a Reply

