No Sun on Sunday?

It didn’t take long to think up a name for this blog.  It’s called NocturnalTwins because I’m a Gemini (twins) and I have insomnia (nocturnal).

My sleeping patterns continue to be a challenge.  I woke up yesterday around 8:30 AM, got my morning paper and read a bit.  Then I went back to bed and the next thing I knew it past noon.  I don’t think I’ve ever slept in that late before. That night I had dinner with J.  Throughout the evening, I was yawning like crazy.

I got home around 10:30PM  and was in bed by 11:00PM.  Of course I couldn’t sleep until well after midnight.  I woke up feeling refreshed and ready to tackle the day.  It was still pretty dark and I figured I could grab a quick morning walk.  I took a look at my phone and it was only 4:00AM.

Confused, I tried to get back to sleep but it was useless.  After tossing and turning for awhile, I walked to my desk and grabbed my laptop and took it back with me to my bed. When dawn broke, I peeked out the window and it was raining hard.  I crawled back into bed.  I think I’ll just stay here until the sun comes out.

 

20 thoughts on “No Sun on Sunday?

  1. Oh the stories we could swap about our insomnia!! Yesterday we didn’t have sunshine, it snowed all day. Not heavy chunks of white stuff, but soft misty snow all day long. Today even though it was only 4 degrees in the morning, (–15 C), the sunshine more than made up for the cold. Tomorrow I turn a year older. Unbelievable how long I have lived around!

    • It’s your birthday? Awesome, Happy Birthday! I join your all your Princes in wishing you nothing but peace and love for your birthday.

      Yes, we could chat all night about our insomnia. But I would bore you and you’ll fall asleep.

  2. i wish i could feel refreshed after so little sleep! i think the quality of my sleep is poor because even after 10 hours straight i never feel energized

  3. I love rainy days! It definitely helps me sleep. Sometimes I’ll play “calming rain” on Spotify to help me fall asleep. But in general I have horrible sleeping problems. I have a very hard time relaxing and falling asleep. Then once I’m asleep I have a hard time staying asleep because I’m such a light sleeper now. But I’ve been taking AlevePM when necessary to reduce my lower back pain and to help me fall asleep. Now that’s the best sleep over.

    • I have an app on my phone too with rain, water noises, waves to help me sleep. I set it to shut off after 30 mins. I take melatonin too and sometimes (when I’m really desparate), a prescription drug.

  4. i’ve learned it is bad to spend time on our phone or computer when we can;t sleep. the more time we spent with our gadgets, the less sleepy we may become. try reading something, with a tangible book or magazine, instead of electronically. or start drinking some alcohol. it may help in getting yourself sleepy and easier to fall back to sleep. worth a try.

Leave a Reply

