A Good Walk

“Aim for success, not perfection. Never give up because then you will lose the ability to learn new things. Move forward with your life.”

Buddha

I went out for a walk one night.  It was our first cold night of this unusually warm winter.  The wind kept a steady pace, mocking me as I pulled my hat down even further.  But I needed the fresh air.   A pan handler saw me and asked for some change. I gave him some and told him to take care.

Then I saw this in a store window.

IMG_3268

Another odd coincidence?  I’ve been in the store a few times and I was checking out window displays.  Lately I’ve been getting these types of reassuring messages and signals from books I’ve been reading (Wayne Dyer & Mitch Albom).

Halfway through the walk, I turned to go back and the wind was now in my face.  But I felt a bit more confident.  I walked a bit straighter and held my head higher. The wind didn’t seem to bother me as much.

I need to make peace with my fears and move on.

 

15 thoughts on “A Good Walk

    • Yes you have… several times but I confess I have not been an disciplined enough to read his stuff. *hangs head in shame*

      Your first recommendation was about an article on meditation I think.

      If you were my teacher I would probably would have driven you nuts.

      • Oh no… lol. It’s me not you. If I had followed some of your recommendations from this site, I probably would have been in a better state of mind. I seem to keep writing about the same issues.

      • Oops hit reply before writing my whole comment. The great things about Buddhism (well at least according to how my monk teaches) is that it’s very non judgmental. The teachings are there when and if you decide to choose to read or listen to them! 😊

  1. What a great walk! What a powerful important quote! Perfect way to start the New Year!
    I collect quotes, so I will add this to my collection.
    Thank you!
    Best wishes for 2016 as you move forward with a smile! 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

