And how is / was your Sunday?

I slept in this morning, lingered in bed for a bit and then hit the showers.  Since I didn’t do any groceries yesterday, I went to a coffee shop down the street to grab something to eat.  After I ordered, I grabbed my coffee and waited for my bagel.  There was a tall man behind me in khaki green hoodie, khaki green pants and sunglasses.  He spoke so softly that the worker had to lean forward to hear what he was saying.  In less than a minute, my bagel was ready and I took it to a window seat by the front.

The window seat is perfect for me since I like people watching.  As I started to sip my coffee, I saw someone across the street walking towards the coffee shop.  It was the man who was behind me – he was even carrying his coffee.  But how the heck did he get across the street so fast and now was walking towards the coffee shop?  I know there’s a back door but there’s no way he would have gotten out so quickly.

Perhaps he is a time traveler.  After I finished my coffee and bagel, I wanted to linger while reading my newspaper.  But this coffee shop that doesn’t have “Xmas coffee cups” was playing Xmas songs.  And it was loud.  After listening to half a dozen Xmas carols, I decided to grab my stuff and leave.

So now I’m at home, about to hop on an online meeting.  I had to work a couple of hours yesterday.  Today, it’ll be about 4 to 6 hours.  I think I’ll play some Xmas carols in the background to drive people nuts.

18 thoughts on “And how is / was your Sunday?

  1. Can’t believe it’s Xmas again. My first Xmas away from family and friends 😦 I have no plans for Xmas this year, so I want to do something, at least. I miss the small celebrations I do with friends and family.

    Only the starbucks here has it’s Xmas tree up (it’s a tiny one). This is only relvant for the town I live in, I’m guessing downtown Taipei is more elaborately decorated. I think I’ll try find some Mandarin Xmas songs – been meaning to do this.

  2. Sounds like a good Sunday!
    Mine was good, too!
    I’m one of those weirdos who loves Christmas songs! But, my fav ones are “old rock” type ones…like Rockin’ around the Christmas Tree, Jingle Bell Rock, Christmas (Baby Please Come Home), Happy X-Mas, Sock it to me Christmas, etc…. 🙂

    HUGS!!! 🙂
    PS…may be the Tall Man was Santa Claus!!! 😛 😉
    Hope your week is wonderful, Matt!

  3. i have yet to play any christmas cd for a personal enjoyment. i still got that christmas album by Richard Marx that i got from my ex. maybe i would play it again soon, at the risk of making myself feeling all melancholy.

Leave a Reply

