Taipei part 1

It’s been almost a week since I’ve been back from Taiwan and I feel like I need a vacation to recover.  My back was sore the first few days but it gradually got better.  My chiropractor gave me a regimen of stretching and exercises to do.  I did catch a cold in Taiwan but thankfully it wasn’t a bad one.

It was our second trip to Taiwan in 2 years. Why Taiwan again? Well, because we liked it a lot last year and wanted to explore a bit more. I don’t speak Mandarin aside from a couple of phrases.  Most of the time, I just said “thank you”.  This year we spent a bit more time in Kenting for some badly needed down time. We walked a lot, ate quite a bit of street food, visited temples, beaches, a gay spa (*blush*), attended Taipei Pride, shopped a bit and I got to meet up with a fellow blogger (Andrew). I had a great chat with him and ’ll have to write about that meet up in a separate entry.

You can visit my Instagram for some pictures. It’s been awhile since I shot this much with my DSLR. Compared to what’s out there, my camera is outdated but it’s still does a decent job. Here are some other pictures.

Shrimp fishing at Shilin Night Market.  They cook your catch afterwards.  It’s tough being a shrimp.

Shrimp Fishing Shilin Night Market

Shrimp Fishing Shilin Night Market

This young man is wearing a bean sprout hair clip that’s part of a craze.   It’s one of the many things he was selling in his booth.

IMG_7716

Sausages anyone?

Shilin Night Market

Shilin Night Market

It was the first of the lunar month when we visited Xingtian Temple and Longshan and the temple was quite busy.  I try to check if photography is allowed.  If so, I try not to be intrusive.  I didn’t carry a long lens with me, just a 17mm to 55mm lens.  If I wanted a close up, I had to get closer to my subject.

IMG_7806

Xintiang Temple (Taipei)

Xintiang Temple (Taipei)

Xintiang Temple (Taipei)

Xintiang Temple (Taipei)

Longshan Temple (Taipei)

Longshan Temple (Taipei)

Longshan Temple (Taipei)

Longshan Temple (Taipei)

Longshan Temple (Taipei)

Longshan Temple (Taipei)

Longshan Temple (Taipei)

Chiang Kai-Shek Memorial – we dropped in and watched the changing of the guards. It’s free and there are other exhibits too.  But yeah, I like watching the soldiers.  They have quite a routine and it gets packed with tourists who will jostle you for your spot (even if you were there first).  The changing of the guards happen every hour.

Chiang Kai Shek Memorial (Taipei)

Chiang Kai Shek Memorial (Taipei)

IMG_7999 IMG_7929

Here’s a view of Taipei from Taipei 101 at dusk.

IMG_8225 IMG_8148

Jiufen – we took the bus up to this small village.  It used to be a gold mining town and was the setting for a couple of films which helped revive it’s popularity.  It was jammed with tourists when we visited.

IMG_8258

We caught these 2 street performers / buskers a couple of times at Ximen in Taipei.  They had a predominantly dance routine that was interspersed with humour and audience interaction.   I enjoyed watching them.

IMG_8462

This is getting to be a large post so I’ll end it here for now.  I’ll post some more soon. It feels a bit strange and depressing going back to work.  I need to figure out a way to get into a more positive frame of mind to deal with work.

26 thoughts on “Taipei part 1

    • I’m glad your friend showed you around and also how to pray. J is Buddhist and he does the rounds while I generally follow and take pictures. I’m Catholic myself but I do say a prayer when I’m in the temples.

      Thanks for the compliment on the pictures. There were lots more that didn’t turn out that sharp because I ddin’t have the right settings or I moved. What helped was that big lens you saw. hee hee…

  1. Nice entry. Sounds like you had a great time. I recently heard someone say that if you go home and you’re sad that means you must have had a really good vacation. I’m interested to hear more about the gay spa! Haha! Oh and was one of those temples beside the snake alley? I remember I really loved that temple but I can’t recall the name.

  2. I think people always need a day or two vacation to get over their vacation before going back to work! 🙂
    You’re photos are amazing! Thank you, Matt, for taking us along with you via photos! I’m so glad you got to go on this trip and had a great time! 🙂
    I’d love to hear more!
    HUGS!!! 🙂

  3. i have yet to go to the top of taipei 101, though been to the location once, to explore the mall. i can’t remember if longshan temple was the temple my uncle once took me to. but have watched the changing of the guards twice. yes, i too like taiwan. i would love to return to this friendly and beautiful country, even if only just for the food 🙂

Leave a Reply

