Keeping In Touch

I had a nice chat (through WhatsApp) with my cousin yesterday.  We haven’t gotten in touch with each other for almost 3 months.  We caught up with each other’s lives.  It was good to reconnect because we haven’t seen each other for many years.   I’ve always looked up to him because he’s just so strong and resilient.  The last time I met him was a family reunion many moons ago.  We shared a room and would chat almost every night before we went to sleep.  After that we kept in touch and exchange long emails about everything. One time he asked if he came to Toronto, could I take him to the gay area.  I told him of course.  So when I finally told him I was gay, he said he wasn’t surprised.  He said it wasn’t because I acted gay or anything.  Maybe his gaydar was better.  I think he said most relatives would just be friendly at the reunion but won’t keep in touch.

Now that I don’t have the issue of eldercare to worry about, maybe I can fly over to LA for a quick visit with him and maybe visit a friend in Berkeley too.  I have no idea what driving is like over there.  If there’s one thing I don’t like to do in a strange city is to drive.  I did that once in St. Louis with my dad.  The GPS kept going “recalibrating… recalibrating…” .  My dad was with me and he kept wondering how to shut it off.

Oh yeah, that short story I was writing with Rigby and Chris?  They got tired waiting for me and have flown down to Sydney to be with Andrew.  They aren’t coming back until I get my act together.

8 thoughts on “Keeping In Touch

  1. How nice to reconnect with a family member and then keep in touch! 🙂

    Having lived many many years in CA…while I love the state…I can say that traffic is horrible and people expect you to keep up with the flow or they honk (etc! 😮 ) at you. It’s definitely a wild ride/drive!

    Berkeley is one of my fav cities to people-watch! 🙂
    San Fransisco is my VERY fav city in CA! 🙂 I, also, love Napa, San Diego…well, if I start naming cities I love this comment will never end! 🙂

    I love that your dad wanted to turn the GPS off! I feel that way sometimes! 🙂

    Well, get your act together, Matt! 😉 I wanna’ hear more about Rigby and Chris!!! 🙂

    HUGS!!! 🙂

    PS…I hope you go on the trip and have fun fun FUN!!! 🙂

  2. Bahaha! I love that the couple flew to Sydney. Maybe I’ll see them in the gay area. 😉

    I love family parties. I’m very close with all my cousins and we have a big family. You should definitely find time to go and visit. Sounds like you need a holiday based on the last post I read from you. I also HATE GPS systems. Especially when it says turn right/left in 200m. What the f*ck is 200m? I have no sense of distance. 😛

    • When we came to Canada, it was just us. My mom had a cousin in Hamilton and that was it. It wasn’t until a few years after did a few relatives visit from US or overseas. My dad came from a large family but he wasn’t close to his siblings. But we have more relatives visiting (from my mother’s side) now.

      I’ve always wondered what it would be like to be part of a large family.

  3. i do hope my cousins will be as kind and open and accepting if i come out to them. not that they have no clue. cause i’m sure they do.c

  4. I am averse to driving in new cities, especially big cities. THOUGH, St. Louis is a piece of cake for me. I lived there for almost twelve years. You should have called me and asked me to drive you around.

Leave a Reply

