Imaginary Conversation

I went out for a walk after work.  It was around 6:30, the sidewalk was busy with people.  The sun was still bright and I could still feel the gentle warmth of its rays.  Across the sky, the moon was already out, glowing demurely and quietly waiting for her turn to shine.   I heard fragments of conversations as people walked by.  But I like to think one of them sounded like this.

“I love this time of year, we have a lot more time together.”

“I wish it was like this all the time.  That was a long winter.  These long summer days are wonderful.  It’s the only time of the year when I can linger and play with you.  The days are lonely without you.”

“The nights are lonely without you too.  The mornings are so rushed, we rarely have any time together.  You must have had another good day, I see so many buds and flowers ready to bloom.”

“A couple more weeks and a lot of the flowers be in full bloom.  Then people will start complaining about the heat and blame me for getting skin cancer.”

“I know, humans are so fickle.  They blame me for their lunacy.  Only the artists appreciate me.”

“Let’s just enjoy the next couple of hours together.  I’ll dazzle you with an amazing colours tonight before I leave.”

“Good, I’ll need the inspiration.  I have quite a few insomniacs to keep company every night.”

17 thoughts on “Imaginary Conversation

    • Sorry I’m behind in replying to comments. I just realized I missed a bunch. Thanks for the compliment. It’s fun writing. Sometimes these things just pop into my head. But there are also times when I will sit for hours and come up with only a couple of paragraphs. I’ve been writing a short story (see my recent entry Rigby Part 3) and it’s taken a while. But it feels good to post them.

  1. Beautiful snippets of conversations. I really can feel the sun in all of them. I really like this idea of conversing/interacting between people and the sun 🙂 Keep writing, Matt!

    • Sorry – I’ve been behind in responding to the comments. This happened while I was in the park. I saw the moon in one part of the sky and the sun in another. I guess in addition to people watching, I also do planetary watching. I wonder if my imaginary conversations makes me a bit strange.

  2. I love your conversation between the moon and sun, Matt! 🙂 This made so creative! It me smile! I like those times when the sun and moon are out together for awhile. 🙂
    I feel akin to the moon…but, I do enjoy the sun on my face…especially on a cold winter day. 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    • Sorry for the delay in getting back to you on the comment. I do like the feel of the sun on a cold winter day too. Especially when there’s no wind and I can feel it. When the wind picks up, I tell the sun to crank it up.

Leave a Reply

