Jitters

Yesterday I decided to read more about the surgical procedure I’m going to undergo next week.  I’ve already read a lot so I wasn’t expecting to find anything new.  Then I saw a few new things.  After the surgery, I have to keep my leg still for at least 4 hours so there won’t be any bleeding.  I would have to use a bed pan and urinal if I had to go.  Hmm…. $#%#@%^$%&#&

Then I read a few new things.  Some people complained about constant and chest pain after the surgery and feeling very tired.  This would go on for months.  I felt a new sense of dread.  I went through the reasons for my surgery and they are still sound.  I closed my laptop and decided that I’ve read enough.  I go in for tests this Thursday.  I was told this would take the whole day.

Maybe all of this is just nervousness.  The closer it gets, the more I think about it and all the bad things that could happen instead of focusing on the positive.

But I felt better after going to the gym last night for a brief workout.  It wasn’t anything intense.  But I just wanted to be more active since I just sit all day.  On Friday, I woke up early and walked in the park before starting work.  I even squeezed in 5 flights of stairs during a break.  So I’ll gradually add more each day until it becomes a habit.  Of course I’ve been saying this for sometime.

11 thoughts on “Jitters

  1. It’s natural to be nervous before any surgery! It’s also a good idea to know as much as you can about the recovery process, and about possible side effects. Good wishes for a problem-free surgery!

  2. This is a disadvantage of Dr.Google that one can read about the possibilities that someone might have experienced or imagined.
    Anyway, it’s normal to be apprehensive. I hope everything will be fine.

    • But Dr. Google knows everything.

      About the only thing I haven’t found is being kidnapped by aliens while recovering helplessly in a hospital bed. Maybe I can throw a bedpan at them.

  3. Everything you’re thinking and feeling is normal, Matt.
    It’s good to be prepared. But, it’s difficult not to be anxious. And I find reading online about med stuff makes me anxious and makes me imagine things will happen that end up not happening.
    Best wishes, good luck, prayers, healing thoughts coming your way! 🙂
    Hang in there! You’re going to be fine! 🙂
    And, way to go on the exercising! 🙂
    (((HUGS)))

  4. Aw Matt, I’m sorry that you have to go through all this. *hugs* I would be scared, too. I hope it all goes well and that you don’t experience anything near as bad as what you’ve been reading. I’ll keep you in my thoughts for it to go well. Take care of yourself and put your health in the highest priority over anything else.

  5. bravo on getting yourself physically more active. i have been trying to be more active myself. been rather lazy since i returned from christmas/new year holiday. but been trying to increase the gym frequency. wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

