Rigby Part 2

Part 1 is here.

So I finally cobbled together a few words.  I still don’t have an ending figured out yet.  I keep rewriting it too much and not committing to anything so tonight I decided to just post what I have.

* * * *

“So Rigby, how did you get your friends to pose nude?” He turned around and had a bit of an awkward smile. I surprised both of us with my boldness.

Rigby chuckled “It’s kinda a long story Chris. I’ll tell you another time. We should get going, we’ve got a busy day.” As he turned around, I detected a slight grin.  I didn’t want to press the issue and we headed out for our photography assignment. But my mind was filled with the the nude images from his photographs.
We went to a local farmers market first. I started to take a few pictures and looked for Rigby. He seemed to jump all over the place. He went behind the stalls to shoot pictures from a seller’s perspective. He knelt down to shoot a child’s perspective. It was fascinating to watch him talk to people. I think people just thought he looked so friendly, harmless and disarming. As he knelt down again to take pictures, I notice his underwear showing just a bit.
After the farmer’s market, we stopped for coffee and compared our pictures. We exchanged cameras and scrolled through the pictures we took. I had a mixture of admiration and envy when I looked through his photos. He had more keepers than I did. I glanced at him looking through my pictures. He paused at a few which caught his attention but he didn’t say anything.
I scrolled past his pictures from today and saw other pictures from his memory card. I hesitated a bit but decided to take a peek. It was pictures from a summer gathering. The food looked great. His subjects looked relaxed and happy. They didn’t pose for the camera. The late afternoon light was soft and gorgeous. Then I saw a couple of pictures of Rigby with his friends in the pool. I didn’t think Rigby would trust anyone else with his camera. It was a picture of him and his friends with the arms on each other shoulders. He had a better body than I imagined.  He also had a large tattoo on his left side of his chest. It was a large floral pattern of some type, perhaps peonies and had color of greens and reds. I was surprised. Maybe he wasn’t that geeky and nerdy. I wanted to see if there were more pictures of him. I glanced at Rigby to see if he noticed what I was doing. He was already done and was waiting to hand my camera back my camera to me. I wondered how long he had been watching me.

I didn’t get a chance to turn off his camera when I handed it back to him. As he turned the camera off, he could see the last picture I had lingered on. Rather than hide it, I just said “That looked like fun. Your pictures captured the joy of the occasion.” He smiled “Yeah, between work and school, I don’t really get a lot of free time. So I try to make the most of it when I’m with my friends.”
“How come when I take pictures of my friends, they stop what they are doing and pose for the camera?”
He laughed softly “My friends got used to me and my camera. I send them nice candid pictures of them. Eventually they trust that I’m not going to take pictures that make them look goofy or stupid. My pictures are better than their selfies.”
We both chuckled. I liked his sense of humour. We got out our assignments and tried to finish the written part. It was the usual things like which photos did we select as our best and why. The only question that stumped me was to give some tips to our partner that day based on what we observed. I told Rigby I didn’t really have any tips for him. He seemed relaxed and knew what he wanted. Rigby nodded. I asked him what his tips was for me. He paused a bit and then said “I thought your mind wasn’t fully in this. You just seemed distracted. Your photos were ok in terms of exposure but you seemed content to stay on the fringes.
I wanted to tell him that my mind was still on his nude photos. But what he said was true so I told him I did agree with him. I told him it was hard for me to feel comfortable taking pictures of strangers and talking to them. Maybe that’s why I did more touristy shots.  Then I asked if we could hang out some time to just shoot pictures.

14 thoughts on “Rigby Part 2

  1. Hey Matt, this is great! I honestly do like this. I think Rigby is hot, too. I feel the tension there, but not only that, these two characters are likable and three-dimensional. Congratulations for writing the second part – this is unprecedented, because we always only ever write one story and that’s it, right? Thank you for the story! I want to read more.

    • I’m glad you like it so far. The tension probably comes from me trying to work through writer’s block. I honestly don’t really know what I’m doing. I’m sort of flying by the seat of my pants.

    • There’s gonna be some stuff that is NSFW.

      I’m kinda tired this weekend. I’m doing laundry right now, have my work and personal laptop open. I’m about to have a cup of tea and wondering if the dishes in the sink can wash themselves and if the 2 piles of laundry can fold themselves.

      • I write A LOT that is NSFW. But none of it makes it onto my WP.
        I can handle NSFW. 🙂 So keep writing as you can/want to. 🙂
        Well, the dishes won’t wash themselves…they are stubborn that way. 😉 And laundry will not unpile and fold itself. It prefers piling. 😛
        But, all those things can wait…a cup of tea and doing anything else sounds like the way to go to me! 😀
        I’m tired today, too. Only got about 3 hours of sleep last night.

  2. now we’re talking. i was waiting for this. i’m glad that you took your time with the story line. it seems so believably real life.

  3. Pingback: Rigby Part 3 | Nocturnal Twins

  4. Pingback: Rigby Part 4 | Nocturnal Twins

Leave a Reply

