He Died Alone

My sister told me one of her neighbours passed away.  I didn’t really know him.  No one did.  He lived alone and did everything on his own.  He moved in after I moved out so I don’t know much about him.  It’s a sad case.  The police broke into the house when a relative couldn’t get in touch with him.  I was told the house was a mess, covered with garbage, cat feces and dirt.  The neighbours helped out with the lawn, shoveling the snow, wiring etc… but apparently he’s not a sociable guy.  I think he was a recovering alcoholic.  There won’t a funeral.  Aside from that relative, I don’t think he had any friends.  No one visited.

It’s sad.

I worry I will end up like that man.

15 thoughts on “He Died Alone

    • I know, it’s irrational fears. Or maybe not. One of my most disturbing dreams is being in a hospital room at night. I could see the harsh flourescent light in the empty hallway on my left. I knew I was minutes away and I just felt so sad and alone. It’s hard to describe. Anyways…. it’s not exactly the most uplifting thing to talk / write about.

      It’s a good thing I’m not morbidly obsessed with this.

  1. That is so very sad. 😦
    I try to keep up with my neighbors. I have some on either side of me who live alone. So I check on them. I know their routine and if things seem out of the ordinary even the slightest, I see if they are okay. 🙂
    I would hope your family and friends will not let you end up like that man, Matt.
    (((HUGS)))

    • It’s a bit of an irrational fear (see also my reply to Nick). The one thing I want to do is to make more friends (irl). It’s harder to do this when I’m in a relationship. Oh well… as long as I don’t live a life of regret, I’ll be fine.

      p.s. you sound like a wise sage now.

  2. aww matt. please don’t think that way. it is sad to learn such thing can happen. i too am not a social person and don’t know any of my neighbors, so i understand your concerns. but this is NOT you. so please cheer up and think positively.

Leave a Reply

