Need To Reset My Body Clock

My body cycle is really strange now.  It starts to shut down between 5PM and 6PM.  It’s a real struggle to stay awake and a couple of times I had to take a nap.  I get my second wind between 7PM and 8PM.  I’ll make a quick dinner.  By 10PM, I’m wide awake and won’t sleep until 2AM to 3AM.  My alarm sounds at 6AM.  I wake up and roll over.  My body wakes up around 8AM. I grab a shower, a quick breakfast and will be at my desk by 9AM.

What do I do in the late hours?  Sometimes I work, read or watch TV.  If I want to work out, I have to make sure I can get to my gym because it shuts down at 11PM.  If it’s too late, I don’t go out for a walk.  But I do shop for my groceries.  There’s usually quite a number of people in the grocery store (including cops).

There are days when my body clock is a bit more normal.  It’s just weird that my body has this odd rhythm.  I should start taking some melatonin again.

17 thoughts on “Need To Reset My Body Clock

    • It’s 1AM now. I’m wide awake. I just took a pill and it should kick in soon. At least I can sleep this morning.

      I should add, it’s pretty cold here now. When you write about sitting in your garden, I do get a bit envious.

    • I think you have to take it for a few days. I know stress contributes to it. I have prescription meds to help but I don’t take it during the week. Maybe I should move to Asia. My body will be on “normal” time. I actually slept quite well when I was in Taiwan.

      • I walked a lot in Taiwan too. By the time I hit the bed, I was ready for sleep. Yeah, it’s pretty well stress. Sometimes I tell J that I’m too tired to sleep and he doesn’t understand. I think when my brain is mentally tired, it goes a bit crazy.

  1. I understand. I have a really weird body clock and do my best work after the sun goes down. I think if a person can (related to work and life), it’s good to go with the body clock. It seems to know it’s rhythm best.
    Best wishes on the reset!
    HUGS!!! 🙂

  2. Have you tried enforcing a very rigid routine for several days? Like wake up at 8am, breakfast at 8:30, lunch at 1pm, dinner at 6pm, no digital screen time for at least two hours before bed and in bed lights off by 11pm?

    • I think when I work late a lot so I know that doesn’t help. Dinner is late and that pushes everything out. I bring my phone to bed with me too. I read from it a bit but mostly read books / magazines. I do have an app that plays soothing sounds and I use it as my alarm clock.

      The early part of the day seems ok though.

  3. That sounds really frustrating. I don’t know what I’d do. I really do love my regular sleeping pattern. Although I do miss the old hood and walking around. I can imagine it’s quite lively in the evening. 🙂

Leave a Reply

