Rocky Road to Sleep

My sleep patterns have reverted back to its crazy self.  It took a week or two to get back to the swing of things when I returned from Taiwan.  I started to sleep on time and wake up early in the morning.  I started going on morning walks which helped clear my head for the day.  But these past 2 weeks have not been good.  I sleep around 2 AM now.  I woke up this morning at 6 when the alarm went off but the next thing I knew it was 8:30.  I jumped into the shower, stuffed some toast and tea and was online shortly after 9 AM.  I just want to get back to a healthy morning routine.

Right now, I have some classical music playing.  I’ve just shut down my work and maybe writing a bit now will settle my brain.  It just always seems to get a second wind at night as soon as I get to bed.

I have this urge to reorganize the corner of my living room that I call my “home office”.  I have an Ikea desk which is good for 1 laptop.  But I cram 2 laptops (1 for work and 1 personal) on it, plus a monitor and a phone.  I have wires, speakers, lamp, papers etc… all scattered there too.  I need some ideas and inspiration.

15 thoughts on “Rocky Road to Sleep

  1. If you’re reading this now, go to bed!!!!!! It’s 2.30am where you are.

    Classical music sounds nice. I took a hot bath last night, and got to bed at midnight. I didn’t nap when I got home, too, so that allowed me to sleep at midnight.

    Do you nap at any time during the day? If so, maybe don’t nap at all, and only have sleep time at night. What’s your ideal sleep hours? Mine would be to sleep at 10pm and wake up at 6am. That would be awesome. Lets encourage each other to get to our sleep goals!

    • hahaha…no, I shut things down and went to bed after I posted the entry. I think my ideal sleep time is around 7 hrs. If I can sleep at 11PM (which is now) and wake up at 6 AM, that would work for me. I have one of these apps that play various sounds (waves, rain). I set a timer for 30 mins and it seems to work.

      • Ah sleeping at 1.30am is just shy of sleeping at 11pm. Hope you can get it down to 11pm soon! I had about 9 hours sleep last night – 8.30pm-5.30am… so not sure if I can sleep at proper times tonight, but I am going to try.

        BTW, just throw away all your junk, Matt! Don’t think about it, just grab a large bag and push everything into it and immediately dump it in the bin!

  2. I loooove home organization, especially for small spaces. I’d recommend you first throw away trash to declutter the area. Then find new homes for objects that you don’t use on a daily basis (extra charger, bottle of lotion, old pens). Then you can think about the things you use everyday and how you can keep them at arm’s reach but not directly on the table. A box with a cute lid could hold chargers and small items, which you could stack into a shelf nearby.

  3. as I am reading this, I am working from home too with two laptops on my desk, lol…a few years ago, i decided to decorate my room so that it was a comforting place that I would actually like to be in – i became very obsessed with the site ApartmentTherapy and very much obsessed with Ikea. I think putting compartments in my drawers, hiding wires behind tables and simply surrounding myself with things that i like – photos, quotes, orchids, lanterns, etc. has definitely changed the mood of my room. good luck! 🙂

    • I was actually checking out the Ikea site as I was writing the entry. I really like the look and the feeling of a very organized and clutter free home office. I’ll have to check out Apartment Therapy.

  4. I think it’s harder to keep up a good schedule of exercise, sleep, etc, in the Winter. 😦
    I have the second wind right before bed problem, too. So, I understand that.
    I hope you can get into a healthy morning routine. Reorganizing office space can be fun. Hope you find what works for you.Sounds like you might need a bigger desk?!?! Maybe a small shelf. ? A filing cabinet or something to add some places to put things. ??
    HUGS!!! 🙂

  5. hope your sleep pattern improves. i’m not a morning person and am a light sleeper too. i find that i can’t sleep more than 6 hours non-stop. but so far i’m ok during the day.

Leave a Reply

