An appointment

The waiting room was somber.  The faded plastic plants and the tired Christmas decorations made it worse.  The TV was on a news channel with the volume off.  I waited for the nurse to call my name.  There were elderly couples scattered throughout the waiting room.  One accompanying the other for his or her appointment.  It must feel so vulnerable to be elderly and sick.  Is it love or duty that binds them?  A man in his late 60s slowly shuffled in with a walker.  His companion goes to the front desk and gives the attendant a form for blood test, his health card and hospital card.  The man looked so fragile and tired.  He grabbed the first seat collapsed into it.  I watched as he heaved several sighs of relief but even that is tiring to him. He eventually buries his head into his hands.

Fortunately a nurse called my name.  While she set up the test, I make a few jokes and small talk.  The test was over before I could even get comfortable.  She asked if I knew where my next appointment was.  I nodded.  I’ve taken my dad there for a few of his appointments.  I remembered how to get through the maze of corridors.  One time, my dad got so tired walking in the hallways.  Fortunately a nurse noticed him struggling and rushed to get a wheelchair for him.

When I got to the doctor’s office, he wasn’t there.  But I bump into him in the corridor.  I told him I was early for my appointment.  He smiled and asked me to wait while he reviewed the results of my test.  I waited in the small and outdated examination room.  Outdated but functional.  The doctor walked in with my file.  We talked for a while and he said I have a very deep voice.  I smiled but didn’t really know what to say.  He also said I asked some good questions and wondered if I had a medical background.  I told him I work in IT.

He answered all my questions calmly. He reassures me what I have isn’t life threatening.   I’ll see him again within 3 or 4 months.  The subsequent treatment I will undergo is considered low risk with a high probability of success.  But there are no guarantees and there is the possibility of complications.

I’m being deliberately vague in this entry.   Maybe I’ll write more about this in the future.  We’ll see.

12 thoughts on “An appointment

  1. Was the doctor trying to hit on you? Anyway, I think he will help you with the problem. Just stay with your meds, and don’t try to be a superman and so too many stressful things, to get the old ticker off its track. Love and hugs to you Mattie.

    • I don’t think he was. He did say the meds I’m on is good and there’s no reason to change. But I’m just concerned about the whole procedure (despite the high chances of success). Love and hugs back to you. 🙂

  2. i totally understand, matt. whatever it is you have and need to be treated, i do hope it won’t bring you down. hang in there, buddy. HUGS.

Leave a Reply

