Morning Walks

I’m going to try walking in the morning instead of the evenings. If I can incorporate an evening walk or any type of workout, it’ll be a bonus.  So far I’ve walked twice this week and had a short walk to the coffee shop yesterday.  My body is still on Asia time.  In fact, I only slept for about 30 minutes last night.  But I dozed off from 5:30 PM to about 10:30 PM.  I heated up some food around midnight and pretty well did nothing.

As always, every week starts with our team call.  We were told that more job cuts are coming.  Frankly I don’t understand how companies can cut their way to prosperity.  But I guess that’s why I’m not a C level executive.  I did have a quick chat with my manager to let him know I need to focus on my health.  He understood but it’ll be a struggle to figure out how to accommodate the heavy and unpredictable workload.

I like the morning walks.  I’ve reduced my caffeine (no more 2 to 3 cups of coffee every morning) so the walk wakes me up.  I used to be a morning person so maybe this will help reset my routine.  It’s a nice change of pace to see the city waking up instead of going to sleep when I walked in the evenings.  We’ll see if I can keep this up when the snow starts falling.

11 thoughts on “Morning Walks

    • It’s the same in my neighbourhood (lots of bars, restaurants etc…). There are a lot more people smoking outside since it’s prohibited indoors in almost all places now. It’s an interesting blend of smells. The morning walk is nicer and I feel I’ve accomplished something before I even start my work day.

      I hope you’re keeping well.

  1. I am so glad you have had a chance to have some time for yourself and had a bit of a vacation. I know what you are going through. It isn’t easy. You will get there. Be safe, my friend.

  2. I walk every day with my neighbour. When the temperature is in the high forties or fifties, we walk outside, and do about three miles. But if the mercury drops below forty, then we go into the mall and walk, enh, about two miles. I like the walks too. Makes for a good day for me.

  3. i have never understood the layoff concept either. I mean, there is a sort of froth layer that should be cut but it shouldn’t be an issue of mass layoffs. I think it just serves to excacerbate the already tenuous financial situation of a company. you have less human capital and thereby the very thing you hoped to avoid happens through the inefficiencies created by cutting people.

Leave a Reply

