Looking for Travel Tips for Taiwan

If things work out, I might be making a trip to Taiwan this year.  I hope to be there for at least 2 weeks.  I’m looking for travel tips for Taiwan – interesting places to see, hidden gems, places to avoid, tips to get around, where to stay and of course where to eat.  Right now, I’m starting to checkout some travel sites.  EVA air now flies from Toronto to Taipei.  It’ll be good to fly direct.  I hope they will have some seats on sale.  

It’s been awhile since I’ve actually traveled on vacation.  My old backpack sits in the corner of my bedroom looking rather sad.  It’s just waiting there patiently for me.  I don’t think this trip will be a backpacking type of trip though.  It’s just to get away for awhile. 

 

 

25 thoughts on “Looking for Travel Tips for Taiwan

  1. I’ve heard great things about the night market in Taiwan. Friends of mines that’s visited said Taiwan has the best street food that’s worth trying.

    There’s a blogger on here that has several posts about Taiwan so maybe that’ll be helpful:

    http://myoutlookinlife.wordpress.com/

    Hope this is helpful even though it’s not much! Have an amazing trip!

  2. You will LOVE taiwan because the people are sooooooo lovely.

    I am happy to give you my whole itinerary but places I really liked (I was only in Taipei and taroko) are:
    – maokong cable car – go all the way up and eat chicken and have tea at the top at a specific restaurant
    – beitou hot springs (I really enjoyed going outdoor one located in a hotel)
    – original din tai fung store in xinyi
    – Shilin night market (most famous night market)
    – ximending – many young people in this pedestrian shopping zone and the bars behind the red door building (forgot what it’s called) are all gay
    – catch cabs and subway everywhere. Cabbies are all friendly
    – g star is a gay club catered to young gays. on Saturday night has these great dancers
    – this might sound lame but I really liked the udon noodles at this shopping centre called shinkong mitsukoshi on the north side of Taipei main station
    – danshui is nice for watching families and kids playing in a field of grass with water and a mountain as a backdrop. There’s also the night markets there-I’m not into night markets

    Please ask me any questions and I’ll be happy to help 🙂

  3. although taipei is a must, i would definitely recommend hualian…very beautiful! around the island, it’s super easy and inexpensive to get a driver to take you to all the attractions and scenic points…it’s piece of mind and saves a lot of planning time.

Leave a Reply

