Au Revoir

I held his hands and told him what an awesome dad he was.  I thought he moved his fingers a bit.  I watched as his breath grew shallower and slower.  I yelled for my siblings to come to the room.  We watched him take his final breath and said our goodbyes.  Just moments before I thought I could sense my mom but maybe it was my imagination.  He wasn’t in pain or discomfort.  We made sure the there were enough meds.  He had his last rites just hours before.  Our house is just a modest home but to him, it was his castle.  He loved it and died there. 

Goodbye dad, I love you.  We’ll miss you.  Give mom a hug from all of us.  I’m happy that you’re with her now and free of the pain and suffering from your illness. 

23 thoughts on “Au Revoir

  1. I’m sorry, Matt! It’s good that you were all there, and you may have actually sensed your mom there to lead him to a more peaceful place. Will be thinking of you.

  2. I’m sorry for your loss. Your presence must have been a comfort to him even if you couldn’t tell. I’m sure that, if your mom was there, she was very proud of you.

  3. Matt, you and your sister have been an inspiration throughout this whole time – not only in how children should care for their parents, but in also showing how genuine love can trump even the heaviest of circumstances.. I am sorry for your loss and will keep you and the family in my thoughts. I can only imagine what you are going through but for what it’s worth, do try to rest and eat when you can these next few days.

    as always, we’ll be here to give encouragement. you are a great son matt.

  4. This made me tear up. I’m sorry for your loss, Matt. You’ve described this beautifully – how he loved his home and that’s where he passed on. It also sounds very important that your siblings were there with him. Your whole family was there and I think that makes a big difference. I’m so sorry for your loss and I hope you’re OK.

  5. I haven’t been reading blogs much lately. Sorry for your loss, my friend. You can take comfort in that you made the best of a bad situation and that up until close to the end your Dad had good quality of life. I am sure that he appreciated all that you did for him. Don’t beat yourself up or spend too much time second guessing. You did all you could. Be safe and if there is anything I can do, I’m here.

  6. Bless you and your family. I’m starting to cope with seeing my dad age and all the things that go through with it, and your posts about your dad have given me support. I’m so sorry for your loss and am thinking of you. – apieceofthesky

Leave a Reply

